Skip to main content
Is it scholarly?
Scholarly sources can generally be identified by several features:
- Content: Is the topic of the article academic?
- Audience: Is the article written for a reader who is knowledgable about the topic?
- Language: Does the author use higher level language and discipline-specific terminology?
- Intent: Is the purpose of the article to report findings of a research project, present a case study, make an argument about a topic based on supporting evidence or research, etc?
- Authorship: Are the qualifications of the author listed? For scholarly articles look for advanced degree(s) as well as experience writing and/or researching on the topic.
- Peer-review: Is the article peer-reviewed or refereed? This means material is evaluated by experts and only published if it meets the discipline's standards.
- References: Does the author support his or her findings with references to other scholarly research in footnotes, endnotes or a bibliography at the end?
Still not sure if your article is scholarly? Check to see if the journal is listed as refereed in Ulrich's Serials Directory.
This list was inspired by the many such lists available on library websites, especially that of Judith Downie at California State University San Marcos
This box contains the library databases deemed most useful for researching topics in URP3000. Databases are listed in order of potential usefulness.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Borrowing from other libraries
Request books not available at FSU or other local libraries through Interlibrary Loan.
ILLiad is the electronic system software you use to request an item through Interlibrary Loan
UBORROW allows you to request materials directly from participating libraries within Florida’s state university system. This unmediated borrowing service increases your access to the collections of the other universities in Florida and delivers more quickly than standard Interlibrary Loan.
Planning Magazine: Monthly magazine from the American Planning Association that covers a variety of issues and topics in planning.
City Lab: City Lab is published by The Atlantic and covers issues related to urbanism and planning