Research Guides: Resources for Wind and Percussion Pedagogy: Finding method books and repertoire

Music Quick Links

Allen Music Library Home Page

Frequently Used Resources

Academic Search Complete
A general periodical index that includes music and interdisciplinary topics among many others.
Chicago Manual of Style ONLINE
Dissertations and Theses
Google Scholar with FSU full-text links
Google Scholar can be a useful searching tool, particularly when it checks against the electronic full text holdings at FSU. This link requires you to log in with your FSU e-mail information-- but it's worth it!
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a service where a student, faculty, or staff of Florida State University may obtain books or obtain photocopies of articles from other institutions.
JStor
Main Campus printing plus print drivers
Download drivers to your computer; you can then send a print job to a campus printer and release it/print it on campus!
Music Index Online
Indexes major music periodicals from 1970 to the present.
Oxford Bibliographies
Great resource to target the top readings and resources on specific topics.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Choose "Music"
Oxford Music Online
Great first stop for composer, genre, period, instrument information and more. Article bibliographies get you to the next step in your research. Includes Grove Music and other relevant titles.
more...less...
Contains Grove Music and more.
Purdue Online Writing Lab: Chicago Manual Style
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
The main scholarly index to articles about music.

Oxford Reference (5 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
includes Grove Dictionary of American Music, 2nd ed., Grove Opera, and more
Please note: Oxford Reference only allows access for 5 FSU users at one time. If you are being asked for a username and password, please try to access the database later.

Subjects:
Archaeology
Art & Architecture
Bilingual dictionaries
Classical studies
Encyclopedias
English Dictionaries and Thesauri
History
Language reference
Law
Linguistics
Literature
Media studies
Medicine and health
Music
Names studies
Performing arts
Philosophy
Quotations
Religion
Science and technology
Social sciences
Society and culture

Resource URL: http://www.oxfordreference.com/
Abbreviation: oxfordref
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
includes music titles
Subjects with full text:
Philosophy
Law
Religion
Political Science
Economics and Finance
Psychology

Tutorials:
Take a Tour (PowerPoint, PDF, and video available)

Resource URL: https://academic.oup.com/pages/oxford-scholarship-online
Abbreviation: oso
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, Indexes / Catalogs

Head, Warren D. Allen Music Library

Laura Gayle Green

Email Me

Contact:

Allen Music Library
College of Music, FSU
122 N. Copeland St.
Tallahassee, FL 32306

850-644-3999

Subjects: Music

Finding repertoire/verifying existence of repertoire

How do you know what's out there?

While that's an existential question, it's a valid one. For your assignment, you're supposed to look at three method books. The Allen Music Library has a representative, not comprehensive, collection of method books. Representative means that we have some examples, but certainly, not everything that's been published. How to find those?

What happens when I search for...

Method books, limited to the Allen Music Library?

Um. Yeah. Let's try a targeted approach. I did the digging to find an example -- and here are the subject terms used to describe it-- assuming you're looking for something to use with elementary/early high school students

Let's try a library catalog search using Bands (Music) -- Instruction and study.

Let's use the left-hand information (limits or facets) to focus the search.

WorldCat (OCLC WorldCat Discovery) This link opens in a new window
If a library has cataloged the item, it's likely listed here. Can be helpful to verify an item's existence, publishers, editors, instrumentation, and more.
Abbreviation: wcwc
Vendor: OCLC
Subjects: Indexes & Catalogs
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Dissertations & Theses (Florida State University only) (PQDT, ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Some DMA treatises/dissertations are included in this resource. If the treatise/dissertation has addressed repertoire, this may provide a useful guide not found elsewhere.
Abbreviation: dissertation
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1637-Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Dissertations / Theses
Google Scholar [see description for access instructions] This link opens in a new window
More and more institutions are providing free online access to treatises/dissertations and may be found through Google Scholar instead of Dissertations and Theses. If the treatise/dissertation has addressed repertoire, this may provide a useful guide not found elsewhere.
To access FSU resources from Google Scholar, please follow these instructions:
- Go http://scholar.google.com
- Click on the hamburger menu on the upper left hand side and click on "Settings"
- Click on Library links
- Type Florida State University in the box that appears
- Click on the blue Search button
- Click in the check box next to "Florida State University- Find It @ FSU" (Not Cengage Gale Full Text)
- Click on Save
- Scholar should now recognize you as an FSU patron
Abbreviation: gsch
Vendor: Google
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs

Music Publishers Association of the United States: Directories
Can be useful to track down a publisher or distributor (or who's bought out which publisher).