Skip to main content

FAMU/FSU College of Engineering

a guide for engineering students and faculty to find relevant library materials and other types of information to conduct their research.

Google Scholar

Additional Useful Databases

These databases are not Engineering Specific but may help fill in the holes in your literature review.

 

Key Library Databases

Begin your research by exploring these core engineering databases.

Compendex (Engineering Village): Covers significant engineering and technical literature from journals (over 3,600), technical reports, engineering society publications, books, and conference proceedings and papers (over 15.8 million records, with more than 650,000 added annually). (additional details)

IEEE Xplore: Provides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards. Also called IEEE/IEE Electronic Library. (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers)

Web of Science: Includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text. Previously know as Web of Knowledge. (Tutorials)

Discipline Specific Databases

These databases are subject specific. The discipline of each discipline will be in parenthesis next to the database title.

Biotechnology & Bioengineering Abstracts (Biomedical): Provides bibliographic coverage of ground-breaking research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology. (tutorial)

Environmental Engineering Abstracts (Environmental):  Covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.

Mechanical and Transportation Engineering Abstracts (Mechanical and Civil): provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the serials literature in mechanical and transportation engineering and their complementary fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics and computation.

Water Resources Abstracts (Environmental): provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.

AGRICOLA (Environmental): Covers journal articles, monographs, theses, microforms, audiovisuals, software and technical reports. Consists of two data sets: NAL Online Public Access Catalog and NAL's Article Citation Database, also known as: Journal Articles. Each data set may be searched separately, or together. Index to materials related to agriculture back to 1970.

Engineered Materials Abstracts, Ceramics (Industrial and Manufacturing): Ceramics Subfile captures complete worldwide information about ceramics -- increasingly becoming the material of choice for high temperature applications, erosive environments, biomedical applications, and other areas where their hardness and corrosion resistance are needed. Ceramics Subfile, providing a central source of information on structural ceramic materials, is a subset of the Engineered Materials Abstracts database .

 

Resources for Finding Technical Papers

Science.gov: Gateway to U.S. government science information and research results

DTIC: Defense Technical Information Center

OSTI: Office of Science & Technical Information, Department of Energy

NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS): NASA technical reports and special publications including the early agency, NACA.

TRAIL (Technical Report Archive and Image Library): identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports.

OpenGrey: System for Information on grey literature in Europe

Search Thesis and Dissertations

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

© 2016 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706