Skip to main content
These are a selection of databases available online through FSU but there are many more databases for the wide variety of specializations in biological science. Many of them are accessible through the general "@FSU-Biology Databases" link. Please contact the liaison for Biological Sciences if you have questions or would like assistance locating an item.
@FSU - Biology Databases
A longer list of databases relevant to Biology which FSU subscribes to. Includes links to the Biosis Citation Index, BioOne Abstracts and Indexes, ProQuest Genetics Abstracts, and more.
Zoological Record is the world's leading taxonomic reference and oldest continuing database of animal biology. Using this database determine the first appearance of an animal name or new species, track taxonomic and nomenclatural changes, and keep up all aspects of animal biology and biodiversity issues.
A scientific journal which covers the areas of chemistry, physical sciences, life sciences, and others. Nature is one of the most cited journals in the sciences.
Web of Science*
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text. Previously know as Web of Knowledge.
A Clarivate Analytics database.
This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biology, biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science1982 to present.
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America (PNAS)*
PNAS is one of the world's most-cited multidisciplinary scientific serials. Since its establishment in 1914, it continues to publish cutting-edge research reports, commentaries, reviews, perspectives, colloquium papers, and actions of the Academy. Coverage in PNAS spans the biological, physical, and social sciences. PNAS is published weekly in print, and daily online in PNAS Early Edition.
BIOSIS Citation Index: 1969-present
Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Each year BIOSIS adds more than 500,000 references covering many disciplines including: Biology, General; Neurology; Neuroscience; Physiology; Agronomy; Biochemistry & Biophysics; Cell Biology; Genetics; Invertebrate Biology, Zoology; Multidisciplinary Life & Medical Sciences; Earth & Environmental Sciences; Food Science & Technology; Microbiology; Anatomy; Developmental Biology; Plant Sciences; Embryology; Histology; Molecular Biology; Neuroanatomy; Pharmacology, Marine Biology.
General Science Full Text*
140 titles, including areas of astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, earth science, environmental issues, mathematics, medicine, physics, and zoology from 1984-Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in March 1993. The abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source articles. Full Text coverage begins in 1997.
Find Full Text
Often databases and indexes only provide a citation. To find the full text of an article:
- Click in a database or "Find it @ FSU" in Google Scholar to be automatically redirected.
- Enter citation information into FSU's Citation Linker.
- Search the Library Catalog for the title of the journal. The catalog record may have a link to the journal's e-text or list of print holdings.
- Request the article through Interlibrary Loan