Government Sources - EDF5652 - Policy Development in Education - Research Guides at The Florida State University

Citing Government Sources

DocsCite (Arizona State University)
Step-by-step guide with template puts government publication citations into APA or MLA style format; Arizona State University Library
Guide to Citing U.S. Government Publications

Government Education Sources

State Education Agencies
Links to state education agency web sites
State & Local Government on the Net
Searchable directory of official state, county, and local government web sites
Education Commission of the States
Information, reports, and databases on education in all 50 states. Includes news and policies on education topics.

EURYDICE
The Eurydice network supports and facilitates European cooperation in the field of lifelong learning by providing information on education systems and policies in 38 countries and by producing studies on issues common to European education systems.
Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
Administered by the University of Texas Austin, provides access to official (government), scholarly, and popular internet portals to information on education in Latin America..
Australia Department of Education and Training
The Department of Education and Training is responsible for national policies and programs that help Australians access quality and affordable early child care and childhood education, school education, higher education, vocational education and training, international education and research.
UNESCO
UNESCO is responsible for coordinating international cooperation in education, science, culture and communication.

Florida Government Sources

Florida Legislature (Online Sunshine)
Website for the Florida Legislature, including bills, laws, schedules, legislators, committees, lobbyists, and information on Florida government.
Florida Senate
Florida Senate website including information on Senators, bills, session, calendar, and committees.
Florida House of Representatives
Florida House of Representatives website including Representatives, bills, committees, and calendar.
Florida Governor's Office
Website for Florida's governor including news items, gubernatorial initiatives, statements, and photos.
Office of Public Policy Analysis & Government Accountability (OPPAGA)
OPPAGA is the Legislature's office that provides data, evaluative research, and objective analyses to assist legislative budget and policy deliberations. OPPAGA conducts research as directed by state law, the presiding officers, or the Joint Legislative Auditing Committee.

Florida Government Publications

Many Florida government publications are available online on state government agency websites. FSU Libraries also has an extensive collection of Florida documents located in the Scholars Commons on the lower level of Strozier Library. To locate Florida documents in the Libraries' collection or to access many electronic documents, search the Libraries' online catalog.

U.S. Government Publications

Many government publications may be found online:

FSU Libraries also have a historical collection of documents in print format. To locate government documents in the Libraries' documents collection, search the Libraries' online catalog. Documents published since 1979 are classified in the ED section. Older documents may be in the FS and HE SuDoc classifications.

ED Education Dept
ED 1.102 Natl Center for Ed Statistics
ED 1.202 Special Ed & Rehabilitative Services Office
ED 1.301 Inst of Ed Sciences
ED 1.402 Elementary & Secondary Ed Office
ED 1.601 Natl Center for Ed Eval & Regional Assistance