Skip to main content

IFS 2081: Busting Common Biology Myths

This guide is designed to assist students taking Dr. Dennis's IFS 2081: Busting Common Biology Myths class.

OneSearch

 


Advanced Search

Google Scholar

Find Scholarly Articles

To find the full text of the article, click on a link to the full text or the   button in the database.  Many journals are available online, but some are in the Libraries' print collection.   Articles from journals not available at FSU may be requested through interlibrary loan.

General Science Full Text (link): 140 titles, including areas of astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, earth science, environmental issues, mathematics, medicine, physics, and zoology

PubMed (link): a service of the National Library of Medicine, which provides access to over 16 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. MEDLINE is the primary database used for getting to the subject content of articles in medicine. There are several ways to get to MEDLINE, including OVID and PubMed. The FSU customized version of PubMed links directly from the article reference to the full article for all electronic journals available at FSU. 

ScienceDirect (link): The electronic full text version of approximately 650 traditional research journals published by Elsevier and Academic Press. These journals are primarily in the scientific, technical, and medical disciplines.

Health Reference Center Academic (link)Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database.

Academic Search Complete (link): multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

Web of Science (link): Scientific indexing service that provides a comprehensive citation search. WoS gives access to multiple databases that reference cross disciplinary research, allowing for in-depth exploration of specialized subfields within a discipline.

GreenFILE (link):A collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

Biological Sciences (link): This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biology, biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science 1982 to present.

Find Magazine and Newspaper Articles

To find the full text of the article, click on a link to the full text or the   button in the database.  Many journals are available online, but some are in the Libraries' print collection.   Articles from journals not available at FSU may be requested through interlibrary loan.

Access World News Research Collection (link): Find current and archived state, national, and international full-text articles on issues, events, people, government and more with over 4,500 newspapers and other news sources.

Proquest Newspapers (link): Click on Publications at the top of the database and select Magazines or Newspapers as Source Type. Otherwise, other content types like journals and reports will appear.

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706