Welcome to the course guide for Dr. Davis's Fall 2018 Social Classes and Inequality. Feel free to use this guide as a starting point for finding information and resources that will help you navigate course content and assignments.
If an item is not available at the FSU Libraries, you can request it from other libraries through UBorrow or Interlibrary Loan.
While the UBorrow service allows you to get items from any participating libraries within Florida's state university and college system,
Interlibrary Loan allows you to request articles, books, and more from libraries around the world.
A FSU academic advising program, Advising First, has a academic advisor located in the Strozier Library in order to serve the advising needs of any Florida State students, especially those students who may be experiencing difficulty getting in to see their assigned advisor during standard office hours. Students can stop by for quick-stop needs, such as questions about courses, schedules, university policies, majors, and a variety of other topics. In addition to providing advising services to the general student population, this advisor provides specialized services to students experiencing indecision regarding their current major to assist them in defining their academic and career goals.
Location & Hours: Advising First's satellite office is located in Strozier Library 107D on the main floor in the annex.
Students may walk-in or make appointments.
Need more information? Call Advising First's main office at 644-3430 or go to Advising First website.
Tutoring
Both Strozier and Dirac libraries offer tutoring services in a wide variety of subject areas (accounting, biology, chemistry, math, physics, statistics, reading/writing, etc.). For a comprehensive listing of hours and courses supported, please see the Tutoring Information at FSU Libraries.
Reserve a Room Online:
Learning Commons (21 rooms. First and third floor of Strozier for Undergraduate Students)
Scholars Commons (4 Rooms. Ground floor of Strozier for Graduate Students and Faculty)
Dirac Science Library (38 Rooms. Dirac library study rooms are available for FSU students and Faculty)
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by 
A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Gale eBooks includes access to encyclopedias, specialized reference sources, and general titles of all disciplines. Designed to enable users to easily cross-search all the content to pinpoint relevant material. Detailed subject indexing allows users to search content based on subject, title, document type, and more.
A collection of over 250 Reference Titles. Sage Reference Online is a social science book platform, where you will find an expansive range of SAGE book and reference content.
Class by
This concise and accessible textbook overviews the place and continuing centrality of the concept of class in cultural studies and sociology. The book reopens the debates over class and culture that were very nearly closed down in postmodernism. Andrew Milner offers readers a critical introduction to the Marxist and Weberian accounts of class and relates the significance of class in the new social movements. He also looks at class politics and trends in the character of class relations.
Encyclopedia of Social Problems by
From terrorism to social inequality and from health care to environmental issues, social problems affect us all. The Encyclopedia will offer an interdisciplinary perspective into these and many other social problems that are a continuing concern in our lives, whether we confront them on a personal, local, regional, national, or global level. The goal of the Encyclopedia of Social Problems is to provide a premier reference tool for students, scholars, and professionals with a wide range of specialties. Covering all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in social problems and their interconnectedness, the Encyclopedia will also provide insight into how social conditions get defined as social problems, and the ways different people and organizations view and try to solve them. The Encyclopedia will be organized in A-to-Z format with cross-referencing of entries around a series of broad themes. Contributors will come from many disciplines, including economics, geography, political science, psychology, sociology, and womenÆs studies.
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America by
The Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North Amercia is a unique reference book that will provide users with basic information about the history of social welfare in North America, including Canada, Mexico, and the United States. Since many themes and issues are similar in the three nations, entries will provide comparative information about common as well as distinctive concerns and developments. Significant events, influential persons, legislation, social problems, and societal responses are described in detail. Editors include specialists in the social welfare history of each nation, and they have collaborated with scholars from a variety of academic disciplines to prepare entries of varying length addressing these issues. Included in each entry are suggestions for further reading that will guide readers to the rich resources available for learning about the history of North American social welfare. The encyclopedia also provides cross-references for important topics. This volume will be a unique reference tool for students at all levels, for teachers, and for libraries serving anyone with an interest in the history of North American social welfare. Topics covered include: - Canada - Charity - Child welfare - Economic conditions and social welfare - Economics/tax policy - Health/Mental Health Policy - Landmark social welfare legislation - Mexico - Poverty - Race and social inequality - Social problems - Social security and income maintenance - Social welfare reform - Social welfare reformers - Social work - United States - Women and social welfare.
Handbook of Social Problems by
The Handbook of Social Problems provides a unique, broadly comparative perspective on the current state of social problems and deviance in a variety of societies around the world. George Ritzer, gathers a number of leading international sociologists and social theorists to examine the relationship between social problems and a society′s level of development and affluence. The essays in this volume focus on four interrelated issues involved in the relationship between social problems and the level of development and affluence: · Less developed and less affluent societies are more likely to experience a range of social problems than developed and affluent societies. · Affluence causes or at least brings with it a series of social problems that do not exist in less affluent societies. · It is only with affluence that certain things can come to be imagined as social problems, such as excessive consumption. · The very affluence of a society makes it vulnerable to problems that would not be social problems in poorer societies. The Handbook explores the theory of the weakness of the strong-in other words, strong or wealthy nations may have greater vulnerability to some social problems than less developed or affluent societies. This theory is clearly illustrated in this volume by the aftermath of September 11, 2001depicting the vulnerability of the U.S. to social problems in far-removed corners of the world. In addition, the international and comparative essays in this volume cover other important issues such as the impact of modern technologies on social problems, ecological problems, global inequality, health as a social problem, and much more. The Handbook of Social Problems is a vital resource for students studying on a number of courses across the social sciences and will be an excellent addition to any academic library.
SAGE Dictionary of Sociology by
"Undoubtedly the most accessible, readable and downright interesting - even amusing - dictionary of its type. In being all of those things - and more - the dictionary does not sacrifice on quality. There are many well-chosen entries and they are quite informative. A useful addition to any scholar′s library while at the same time being an excellent resource for both graduate and undergraduate students" - George Ritzer, University of Maryland "This is a delightful and comprehensive dictionary. The authors write in an engaging and lively style that brings alive the ideas of sociology not only for existing practitioners, but also for a whole new generation of students" - Tim May, University of Salford With over 1000 entries on key concepts and theorists, The SAGE Dictionary of Sociology provides full coverage of the field, clarifying the technical use of apparently common words, explaining the fundamental concepts and introducing new and unfamiliar terms. This book provides: authoritative, reliable definitions accessible ′digests′ of key arguments contemporary, appealing illustrations of points readability. This is not just another dry guide to the discipline. Engagingly written with its audience firmly in mind, it will be the definitive and chosen companion to established textbooks and teaching materials in sociology.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of World Poverty by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of World Poverty, Second Edition addresses the persistence of poverty across the globe while updating and expanding the landmark first edition, originally published in 2006 prior to the economic calamities of 2008. For instance, while continued high rates of income inequality might be unsurprising in developing countries such as Mexico, the Organization of Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) reported in May 2013 even countries with historically low levels of income inequality have experienced significant increases over the past decade, including Denmark, Sweden, and Germany. The UN and the World Bank also emphasize the persistent nature of the problem. It is not all bad news. In March 2013, the Guardian newspaper reported, "Some of the poorest people in the world are becoming significantly less poor, according to a groundbreaking academic study which has taken a new approach to measuring deprivation. The report, by Oxford University's poverty and human development initiative, predicts that countries among the most impoverished in the world could see acute poverty eradicated within 20 years if they continue at present rates." On the other hand, the UN says environmental threats from climate change could push billions more into extreme poverty in coming decades. All of these points lead to the need for a revised, updated, and expanded edition of the Encyclopedia of World Poverty, Second Edition.
Social Inequality by
"What makes this book stand out for me is that, as well as being theoretically informed and clearly written, its structure lends itself unmistakeably to teaching... If our aim is to teach truly engaged students, it should be our job to provide truly engaging materials. This is what you will find with this particular book. It will help to inform your disciplinary teaching of social inequality across the social sciences and it will provide a solid basis for your seminar work with students."- Helen Jones, Higher Education Academy"Warwick-Booth has provided a highly readable introductory text that will be accessible to everyone interested in this area of study, and I highly recommend it for those embarking on studies of social inequality."- LSE Review of Books What is the state of social inequality today? How can you situate yourself in the debates? This is an essential book that not only introduces you to the key areas, definitions and debates within the field, but also gives you the opportunity to reflect upon the roots of inequality and to critically analyse power relations today. With international examples and a clear interdisciplinary approach throughout, the book encourages you to look at social inequality as a complex social phenomenon that needs to be understood in a global context. This book: Looks at social divisions across societies Explores global processes and changes that are affecting inequalities Discusses social inequality in relation to class, gender and race Examines current social policy approaches to explore how these relate to inequality Reflects upon the potential solutions to inequalities This engaging and accessible introduction to social inequality is an invaluable resource for students across the social sciences.Louise Warwick-Booth is Senior Lecturer in Health Policy at Leeds Metropolitan University, UK.
The CQ Press database combines many of CQ's most well- known government and political titles into a single searchable database. It includes such titles as the Political Handbook of the world, Elections A to Z, the Federal Regulatory Directory and the Washington Information Directory and covers such topics as International Affairs, Congress, Law and the Courts, Elections and Political Behavior, the Presidency and Politics and History.
This database combines many of CQ's most well- known government and political titles into a single searchable database. It includes such titles as the Political Handbook of the world, Elections A to Z, the Federal Regulatory Directory and the Washington Information Directory and covers such topics as International Affairs, Congress, Law and the Courts, Elections and Political Behavior, the Presidency and Politics and History.
© 2022 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706
