Skip to main content
- Media Ethics
- Journalistic Ethics
- Mass Media Ethics
- Mass media -- moral and ethical aspects
- Citizen Journalism
- Attribution of News
Tip: For a search on ethical aspects of social media, try using the name of the social media and add a phrase such as "ethical aspects"
I.e., facebook "ethical aspects"
Selected Books, Handbooks and Encyclopedias
Ethics in Journalism by The reputation of journalists is continually being questioned.Nearly every public opinion poll shows that people have lostrespect for journalists and lost faith in the news media. In thisfully updated and expanded 6th edition of Ethics inJournalism, author Ron F. Smith provides a highly readableintroduction to journalism ethics, and offers solutions for themany ethical dilemmas facing journalists today. Utilizes dozens of new case studies, mostly taken from everydayexperiences of reporters at both large and smaller newspapers andTV stations Explores the practical ethical issues involved in developingsources, coming to terms with objectivity, and bringing compassionto the pressures of journalism Considers the impact of blogs and the internet on traditionalvalues of journalism Compares journalistic practices across different freesocieties
Call Number: eBook (coming soon)
Publication Date: 2008 (6th ed.)
Media Ethics : Key Principles for Responsible Practice by Making ethics accessible and applicable to media practice, Media Ethics: Key Principles for Responsible Practice explains key ethical principles and their application in print and broadcast journalism, public relations, advertising, marketing, and digital media. Unlike application-oriented case books, this text sets forth the philosophical underpinnings of key principles and explains how each should guide responsible media behavior. Author Patrick Lee Plaisance synthesizes classical and contemporary ethics in an accessible way to help students ask the right questions and develop their critical reasoning skills, both as media consumers and media professionals of the future.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Journalism Ethics by Closely organized around the Society of Professional Journalists' code of ethics--the news industry's widely accepted "gold standard" of journalism principles--this updated edition uses real-life case studies to demonstrate how journalism students and professionals can identify and reason through ethical dilemmas. Stressing the cross-platform viability of basic ethical principles, this study features a wide selection of case studies penned by professional journalists--including several new additions--that offer examples of thoughtful, powerful, and principled reporting. Cases where regrettable decisions have taught important lessons are also included, providing a new template for analyzing moral predicaments. Examining the similarities and differences between media law and media ethics, this revised edition includes chapters such as "Seek Truth and Report It," "Minimize Harm," "Act Independently," and "Be Accountable." Describing the basic connection between ethical journalism and excellent journalism, this is a lively, succinct, and accessible discussion of how this type of reporting can be morally upheld in the present day, regardless of medium or platform.
Call Number: eBook (coming soon)
Publication Date: 2011 (4th ed.)
Doing Ethics in the Mass Media: Theories and Practical Applications by Doing Ethics in Media: Theories and Practical Applications is an accessible, comprehensive introduction to media ethics. Its theoretical framework and grounded discussions engage students to think clearly and systematically about dilemmas in the rapidly changing media environment. The 13-chapter text is organized around six decision-making questions¿ the "5Ws and H" of media ethics. The questions encourage students to articulate the issues; apply codes, policies or laws; consider the needs of stakeholders; sift and sort through conflicting values; integrate philosophic principles; and pose a "test of publicity." Specifically, the questions ask: ¿ What¿s your problem? ¿ Why not follow the rules? ¿ Who wins, who loses? ¿ What¿s it worth? ¿ Who¿s whispering in your ear? ¿ How¿s your decision going to look? As they progress through the text, students are encouraged to resolve dozens of practical applications and increasingly complex case studies relating to journalism, new media, advertising, public relations, and entertainment. Other distinctive features include: ¿ Comprehensive materials on classic moral theory and current issues such as truth telling and deception, values, persuasion and propaganda, privacy, diversity, and loyalty. ¿ A user-friendly approach that challenges students to think for themselves rather than imposing answers on them. ¿ Consistent connections between theories and the decision-making challenges posed in the practical applications and case studies. ¿ A companion website with online resources for students, including additional readings and chapter overviews, as well as instructor materials with a test bank, instructor¿s manual, sample syllabi and more. www.routledge.com/textbooks/black ¿ A second website with continuously updated examples, case studies, and student writing ¿ www.doingmediaethics.com. Doing Ethics in Media is aimed at undergraduates and graduate students studying media ethics in mass media, journalism, and media studies. It also serves students in rhetoric, popular culture, communication studies, and interdisciplinary social sciences.
Call Number: eBook (click on [Find it @ FSU] link to access the full text
Publication Date: 2011
The Concise Encyclopedia of Ethics in Politics and the Media by This concise encyclopaedic reference is the second of two derivative volumes of the Academic Press' bestselling Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics. An authoritative collection of articles discussing ethical issues within and about the news and entertainment industries as well as politics, this volume includes three new articles especially commissioned and 30 articles previously published in the Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics. Over half of the previously published articles include updated facts and bibliographic citations. New articles include Media Ethics, Overview, War Reporting and Privacy vs Public Right to Know.
Call Number: PN4756 .C66 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Handbook of Mass Media Ethics by This Handbookencapsulates the intellectual history of mass media ethics over the past twenty-five years. Chapters serve as a summary of existing research and thinking in the field, as well as setting agenda items for future research. Key features include: up-to-date and comprehensive coverage of media ethics, one of the hottest topics in the media community 'one-stop shopping' for historical and current research in media ethics experienced, top-tier editors, advisory board, and contributors. It will be an essential reference on media ethics theory and research for scholars, graduate students, and researchers in media, mass communication, and journalism.
Call Number: P94 .H355 2009
Publication Date: 2008