STEM Faculty & Scientists
This is the "Home" page of the "Chemistry & Biochemistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemistry & Biochemistry   Tags: biochemistry, chemical safety, chemistry, lab biosecurity, lab safety  

Resources for chemistry & biochemistry research.
Last Updated: Jun 9, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.fsu.edu/chemistry Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome



The Chemistry & Biochemistry Guide will give you shortcuts to key resources to get you started.

 

List of eResources in Biology, Chemisty, & Physics available at FSU Libraries

Click here for a full list of e-Resources in chemistry, biology, and physics, sorted by fields or A-Z.

Related Links @ FSU

 

Key Recommended Resources

Topic

 Key Resources

  Background information

  Hawley’s condensed Chemical Dictionary
  Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology

  Articles and other chemical literature

  SciFinder
  Web of Science (for cited reference searching)

  Patents

  Reaxys
  SciFinder
  USPTO (United State Patent & Trademark Office)

  Chemical substances, reactions, and synthesis

  ChemSpider
  Merck Index
  Reaxys
  SciFinder
  Web of Science (Current Chemical Reactions database)

  Nanoscience

  SciFinder
  Engineering Village (INSPEC & Compendex)
  Materials Research Database

  Biomolecules  

  PubChem
  Brenda (enzyme information system)
  NCBI databases

Key Databases

SciFinder Scholar  
Provides access to several Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCAT. It includes journal articles, book chapters, patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, and dissertations. Users may search by author name, research topic, molecular formula, chemical structure/substructure, or chemical reaction. First time users will need to create a SciFinder account here.

Chem ID Plus
The National Library of Medicine's open-access database of over 370,000 chemicals. To search the database enter compound identifiers such as Chemical Name, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, and Structure or Substructure. New searchable features include search and display by Toxicity indicators such as Median Lethal Dose (LD50), by Physical/Chemical Properties such as LogP, and by Molecular Weight.

ChemSpider
An open-access chemical structure database from the Royal Society of Chemistry, providing fast text and structure search access to over 29 million structures from hundreds of data sources. Search chemicals by name


Reaxys
A web-based search and retrieval system through which you can search Beilstein, Gmelin, and Patent Chemistry database for chemical substances, measured substance property data, and chemical reactions. Reaxys starts with the query form, which allows you to enter reaction, substance or textual information. These 3 query types are organized in 2 query tabs that enable you to enter a query in a variety of ways.  You can draw a structure or reaction using a structure editor, load a previously saved structure or reaction, or generate a structure by typing a name. 

NIST Chemistry WebBook
An open access database with access to chemical and physical property data for chemical species through the internet. The data provided in the site are from collections maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. Data in the WebBook system are organized by chemical species. The WebBook system allows users to search for chemical species by various means. Once the desired species has been identified, the system will display data for the species.


Web of Science

Multidisciplinary coverage of scholarly literature and a great place for searching citations.
Try this database first to search topics in marine biology.

      
     

    Need Help?

    For a quick question on locating known items such as books or journal articles, or finding a database from the library website, use our "Ask us Now"
    service. Click on the box below.

    For a research consultation, please schedule an appointment with Science Librarian at here

     

    Ask us Now

     

    Guide Author

    Kyung Kim
    Interim Science Librarian 
    kkim4@fsu.edu

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip