Websites
Materials on the Seminole WarsSeminole Clothing And Design
This is the "Home" page of the "Native Americans" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Native Americans   Tags: history, indians, native_americans  

Last Updated: Dec 12, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.fsu.edu/content.php?pid=100158 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

 

As a student and scholar at FSU, you have access to one of the world’s finest collections of documents that relate to Native Americans in the South.  The guide that follows is certainly incomplete, but it is a good place to start on any historical research project.  The guide contains many classic texts and collections that are either held at FSU or available electronically.  For additional resources, please read the footnotes and bibliographies of secondary sources that are related to your topic or tribal nation that you want to study.

 

Most documents about Indians are usually embedded or hidden in collections or books that do not mention Native Americans in the title or even in the catalog description.  For example, the various collections of letters by American politicians (and there are hundreds) often contain description of Indians, Indian policy, housing, clothing, food, warfare, culture, etc.  You can also find rich documentation in various legislative records, travel accounts, newspapers, periodicals, and private papers of non-Indians.

 

Check out the PRIMARY SOURCE database:

Artemis Primary Sources this full text database explores the political, social and cultural history of Native Peoples from the 17th to the 20th centuries. Materials include newspapers from various American and Canadian tribes and Indian related organizations.

            Also features Indigenous language materials, dictionaries, Bibles, and primers.

 

Ask us Now side box

Subject Guide

Profile Image
William M. Modrow
bigbadbillfsu AIM
Logo - AIM
Contact Info
Special Collections Department
Office: 850-644-1967
Dept: 850-644-3271
Send Email

Research Librarian

Profile Image
Marcia Gorin
Contact Info
Scholars Commons
Strozier Library
850-645-2708
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip