Welcome!
Welcome to the French History Research Guide. Use the tabs and boxes to identify and locate items for your research. This guide is just the beginning, so if you need more help locating articles, books, or other resources for your paper, contact us about setting up a research consultation. During a research consultation, a librarian meets with you one-on-one to help you get a handle on the resources you need to complete your assignment.
French History Resources at FSU
- Institute on Napoleon and the French Revolution
- Winthrop-King Institute for Contemporary French and Francophone StudiesAlthough its focus is on literary and cultural studies and contemporary issues, the center maintains a "keen awareness of the historical forces which avhe shaped the modern world."
Key Resources
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is another excellent resource for books, periodicals, manuscripts, newspapers, and archival materials in print, microfilm, and digital formats. FSU belongs to this international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries, which allows FSU patrons to borrow CRL materials via interlibrary loan for extended periods.
One way to identify key collections is through CRL Topic Guides. See, for example, the Topic Guide for France.
- Archives de FranceFrom the Ministry of Culture and Communication, responsible for archive administration, including collection management, conservation, and service of public archives other than those of the ministries of Foreign Affairs and Defense. Links to all aspects of these issues. In French.
- Archives NationalesThe National Archives of France. Links to the archives' five centers, information on how to do research, historical background, and more. In French.
- Classiques Garnier Numerique -- La Revolution et l'Empire (The Writings of 19th century historians on the Revolution and Empire)Provides full-text, key-word searchable access to primary texts and reference works.
- Classiques Garnier Numerique -- La Critique litteraire (19th Century Literary Works)Provides full-text, key-word searchable access to primary texts and reference works.
- Classiques Garnier Numerique -- Les Ecrits sur l'art (Writings on Art from the 18th to 20th Centuries)Provides full-text, key-word searchable access to primary texts and reference works.
Research Librarian: Humanities |
Contact Info Research Librarian Robert Manning Strozier Library 116 Honors Way PO Box 3062047 Tallahassee, FL 32306-2047 (850) 645-2600 sbuckkachaluba@fsu.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Rare Books and Special Collections Librarian |



Loading...
