*English

The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600–1150 A.D.) of the English language, using today's most advanced technology. The DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100–1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary (which documents the development of the English language to the present), the three together providing a full description of the vocabulary of English. The Dictionary of Irish Biography, a collaborative project between Cambridge University Press and the Royal Irish Academy, is the most comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary yet published for Ireland. It contains 9,014 signed biographical articles which describe and assess the careers of subjects in all fields of endeavor, including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport.

The Dictionary of Old English Web Corpus is an online database consisting of at least one copy of every surviving Old English text. In some cases, more than one copy is included, if it is significant because of dialect or date. As such, the DOE Web Corpus represents over three million words of Old English and fewer than a million words of Latin, or almost five times the collected works of Shakespeare. The Web Corpus is compiled as part of the Dictionary of Old English project at the University of Toronto.

Contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475–1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641–1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640–1661).

Eighteenth Century Collections Online is based on The English Short Title Catalogue, a machine-readable union list of the holdings of the British Library, as well as those from more than 1,500 university, private and public libraries worldwide. This includes over 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701–1800. This online collection is divided into seven subject areas: history and geography; social science and fine arts; medicine, science and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; and reference. Part II expands the collection with an emphasis on literature, social science, and religion.

FSU has access to parts one and two.

Access to and interconnectivity between three major Middle English electronic resources: the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography based on the MED bibliographies, and an associated network of electronic resources.

Contains records for works printed in any language in England or its dependencies from the beginning of printing through the end of the eighteenth century, as well as works printed in English anywhere else in the world during that period. Subject headings appear in records for items published in 1700 or earlier. (Over 460,000 items)

Provides online access to 280 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.

British Library Newspapers, Part I and II (1800–1900) include regional and local newspaper titles that illuminate diverse and distinct regional attitudes, cultures, and vernaculars, providing an alternative viewpoint to the London-centric national press. Parts III (1741-1950), IV (1732-1950), and V (1746-1950) add even more regional and local depth, encompassing powerful provincial news journals, local interest publications, and specialist titles. Part VI (1783-1950) provides the Irish perspective, a counterpoint to the major UK daily newspapers.

From leading issues and events, like the U.S. Civil War, immigration, westward expansion, industrial developments, race relations, and World War I and II; to international, local and regional politics, society, arts, culture, business, and sports, ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ reveals the day-to-day news coverage to researchers and historical explorers, providing invaluable insights and information to users from a wide range of subjects.

Contains full-text content of The Sunday Times (London), one of the world's most famous newspapers and Britain's newspaper of record. Paid advertisements are excluded. The paper has long been held in high regard for its impartiality in reporting and analysis of the events. Letters to the editor are often written by respected experts writing on the pivotal issues of the day.