STEM Faculty & Scientists
This is the "Home" page of the "Marine Biology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Resources covering organisms and the environmental aspects of marine biology.
Last Updated: Sep 23, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.fsu.edu/marine_biology Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

FSU image
Source: Coastal & Marine Lab @ FSU

This page helps you to find basic resources in Marine Biology and related areas.  See Biological Science for a guide to more in-depth research.

 

Key Resources

Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of scholarly literature and a great place for searching citations.
Try this database first to search topics in marine biology.
Tutorial: http://wokinfo.com/training_support/training/web-of-science/ 

ASFA - Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts

    Aquatic Resources including over 5,000 serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature from 1978- present.

ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources

 
 All aspects of marine, freshwater, and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including information on biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, exploitation of living resources, and related legal, policy, and socioeconomic issues from 1978-

ASFA 2: Ocean Technology,Policy and Non-Living Resources

    Indexes 900+ international scholarly journals and other publications in physical and chemical oceanography and limnology, marine geophysics, geochemistry and geology, marine technology, ocean policy, and nonliving resources from 1978-ceanography, limnology, coastal structures 

ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality

     Abstracts journal devoted exclusively to research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries from 1990-quatic pollution, prevention and control 

ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts

      Marine and freshwater aquaculture abstracts from 1984- 

ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts

     Marine biotechnology, molecular biology, and molecular genetics from 1978-

Keywords

Variants
Biological oceanography
Ocean biology
Oceanic biology
Sea biology

Broader Terms
Aquatic biology
Marine sciences

Narrower Terms
Deep-sea biology
Fishery oceanography
Mariculture
Marine biotechnology
Marine mammalogy
Marine microbiology
Marine organisms
Marine pharmacology
Marine resources
Nets
Radioactive tracers in marine biology
Seashore biology
Ships--Fouling

      
     

    Need Help?

    For a quick question on locating known items such as books or journal articles, or finding a database from the library website, use our "Ask us Now"
    service. Click on the box below.

    For a research consultation, please schedule an appointment with Science Librarian at here

     

    Ask us Now

     

    Guide Author

    Kyung Kim
    Interim Science Librarian 
    kkim4@fsu.edu

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip