Research Guides: *Art History: Find Articles

Find Articles

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source is the largest full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.
Abbreviation: eas
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1914-present
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Art Index Retrospective and Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
Art Index Retrospective: 1929–1984 provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews. Art Full Text is a foundational art research database providing full-text art journals and books. It covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film and architecture.
Abbreviation: artind
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1929-1984
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Garnier Numérique This link opens in a new window
Les Écrits sur l'art are centered on art criticism, i.e. on the salons and on literary monographs devoted to painters by important writers and critics from 1741 to 1927. Covers esthetics, philosophy, art history, texts by painters and writers, but also novels and artists’ journals. In French.
See also:
La Revolution et l'Empire (The Writings of 19th century historians on the Revolution and Empire)
La Critique litteraire (19th Century Literary Works)
Les Ecrits sur l'art (Writings on Art from the 18th to 20th Centuries)

Abbreviation: gan
Vendor: Classiques Garnier Numrique
Subjects: History, Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy & Ethics, Religion
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Humanities and Social Sciences Full Text (plus Retrospective) This link opens in a new window
Periodical coverage in Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective (1907-1984) includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
Abbreviation: humanities
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1907-1984
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
The Index Islamicus database indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by an editorial team working at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London, established to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies, which have traditionally been part of the curriculum of SOAS. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam.

Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
Subject coverage: Islam, Muslim, Middle East, Arab, Asia, Africa, History, Political science, Arts, Humanities

Abbreviation: iislam
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Asian Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Religion
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.
Tutorials:
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665-present
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
Monumenta Germaniae Historica This link opens in a new window
The Monumenta Germaniae Historica was founded in 1819 by the Gesellschaft fr Deutschlands ltere Geschichtskunde. It is one of the most prestigious editorial undertakings for the critical publication of medieval historical texts. In more than 300 volumes, covering a wide range of historical documents, divided into five major Series (Scriptores, Leges, Diplomata, Epistolae and Antiquitates) and into 33 Subseries, the Monumenta continues its editorial programme and has established for a standard for critical editions.
Additional information:
Publisher's PDF information document

Abbreviation: mgh
Vendor: Brepols Publishers
Subjects: History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference resources. Users can accessand simultaneously cross-searchan expanding range of Oxfords acclaimed art reference works: Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies.
Abbreviation: grove-art
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art
Type: Biographies, E-Journal Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Images, Indexes / Catalogs
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the full-text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. Subjects include art, anthropology, classics, culture and society, demographics, economics, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine and health, philosophy, politics, religion, science, sociology, etc. Coverage varies according to title (1993).
[*http://muse.uq.edu.au/journals Mirror server if link is not working.]

Abbreviation: muse
Vendor: The Johns Hopkins University Press
Coverage: 1993Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

Regesta Imperii: Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur Mainz
A comprehensive database for historical research not included in other bibliographies. Covers historical disciplines, such as Archaeology, Byzantine studies, German language and literature studies, History of art and music, Philosophy, Romance Studies, and Theology.

Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source is a valuable collection for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. It includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more.
Abbreviation: ehs
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: African-American Studies, Classics, History, Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy & Ethics, Religion, Rhetoric & Composition, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

These are just some of the important Arts journals we have subscriptions to at FSU. While most journals are available online many print titles in the visual arts are not, but they remain equally important resources. Check the Libraries' catalog for complete access and holdings information.

Research tip: when looking for a specific journal you can search by its ISSN, rather than its title. Like a book's ISBN, journals have an 8 digit ISSN that uniquely identifies them (example: Flash Art is 0394-1493).

AATA: Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An online database of abstracts of worldwide literature related to the management and conservation of international material cultural heritage from 1932 and on.
Tutorials:
AATA Online Author Search (0:29 seconds)
AATA Online Journal Search (0:27 seconds)

Abbreviation: aata
Vendor: Getty Conservation Institute
Coverage: 1932-Current
Subjects: Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Museum Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.
ABM is the premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, including photography since its invention. It includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
ABM is used by students and researchers around the world to pinpoint publications and writings relevant to their area of study. Its extensive classification system and comprehensive abstracts make it an ideal source for information on artists, art movements, art history and theory, design, photography, and crafts.

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database)

Abbreviation: artbibmod
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1966-Current
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
The Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,100 arts and humanities journals, as well as relevant references from over 6,800 science and social sciences periodicals. Provides multidisciplinary indexing of all fields of arts and humanities, including dance, film, radio and television, language, music and literature.
Tutorials:
Web of Science Tutorials

Abbreviation: wokah
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Coverage: 1975-Current
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Studio Art
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA) provides a comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of Western art from late antiquity to the present. Broad in scope, BHA and RILA encompasses fine arts-painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, and architecture-as well as decorative and applied arts-crafts, graphic arts, folk, and popular art.

BHA and RILA indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealers' catalogs and articles from thousands of periodicals in many languages. The database is particularly strong in European art from the medieval through modern periods, and in the indexing of foreign language materials.
Abbreviation: bibl-hist-art
Vendor: Getty Research Institute
Coverage: 1975-2007
Subjects: Art History
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century, providing nearly complete coverage of journals from this period. Covers articles, art notes, stories, illustrations, poems and advertisements from these periodicals.
Abbreviation: 19th-artper
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1800-1900
Subjects: Art History
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the definitive resource for scholarly literature on western art, and is published exclusively by ProQuest. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute as part of BHA. These records were created in 2008–2009, and cover scholarship up to 2009, including retrospective records for material published in previous years. ProQuest will be building on this by adding 25,000 new records per year going forwards, ensuring unbroken coverage of indexed journals.
Subject coverage:
European art since late antiquity
American art since the colonial period
Global art since 1945
Fine art in all media
Decorative arts and antiques
Museum studies and conservation
Archaeology and material culture
Folk art
Architectural history

Abbreviation: ibibart
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1945-Current
Subjects: Art History
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The IMB, long available in print and CD-ROM, is the most comprehensive index for Medieval Studies. The online database comprises over 300,000 records. All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 300–1500 AD. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. There is free text searching within the records and searching by authors, titles, publication sources, years of publication, ISBN/ISSN, languages, subjects, place names, persons, families, texts, repositories, and centuries treated. A browse function within each field displays the available terms.
The online-only Bibliographie de Civilisation Mdivale (BCM) is a bibliography of books that can be searched together with or separately from the IMB. There is also an International Directory of Medievalists available alongside IMB. In addition the Brepolis Medieval Encyclopedias provide online access to 1) Europa Sacra, a directory based on two earlier works, 2) a major German-language print encyclopedia, Lexikon des Mittelalters (or LexMA), and 3) an online-only supplement, International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages. Citations in the IMB and BCM link to articles in the encyclopedias, which in turn link to citations in the IMB and BCM.

Abbreviation: imb
Vendor: Brepols Publishers
Coverage: 300-1500
Subjects: Art History, History, Literature, Religion, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Iter bibliography This link opens in a new window
Iter bibliography addresses many aspects of the Middle Ages and Renaissance, such as archaeology, art, history, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and science, covering the years 400–1700. It provides citations for books, journals, and essays.
Abbreviation: iter
Vendor: Iter, University of Toronto Libraries
Coverage: 1784-Current
Subjects: History, Literature, Religion, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

OpenBibArt
OpenBibArt is a bibliographic database born out of a collaboration between the Institut National d’Histoire de l’Art (INHA), the Getty Research Institute (GRI) and the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the CNRS (Inist-CNRS). OpenBibArt reviews the literature on arts from Late Antiquity to the present day, providing access to close to 1.2 million of bibliographic records of periodicals, books, exhibition and auction catalogues, published between 1910 and 2007.

Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Oxford Bibliographies combines features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, giving researchers scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
Subjects:
African Studies
African American Studies
American Literature
Anthropology
Art History
Atlantic History
Biblical Studies
British and Irish Literature
Buddhism
Childhood Studies
Chinese Studies
Cinema and Media Studies
Classics
Communication
Criminology
Ecology
Education
Hinduism
International Law
International Relations
Islamic Studies
Jewish Studies
Latin American Studies
Linguistics
Literary and Critical Theory
Medieval Studies
Military History
Music
Philosophy
Political Science
Psychology
Public Health
Renaissance and Reformation
Social Work
Sociology
Victorian Literature

Abbreviation: oxbib
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: Religion, Urban and Regional Planning, *General / Multi-Subject, Bibliography
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Research Starter
Papal Letters This link opens in a new window
The electronic version of the celebrated Registres et lettres des Papes du XIIIe sicle (32 vols.; Rome, 1883 ) and the Registres et lettres des Papes du XIV e sicle (48 vols.; Rome, 1899 ) Complemented with unpublished information More than 220,000 documents providing insights into the most varied aspects of medieval society.
Abbreviation: papal
Vendor: Brepols Publishers
Subjects: History, Religion
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Indexes / Catalogs

Art Discovery Group Catalogue
The Art Discovery Group Catalogue (ADGC) offers an art-focused research experience within the OCLC WorldCat environment. Researchers may search within this specialized subset of Worldcat data to hone in on a vast trove of art-historical literature held in an ever-increasing number of the world’s finest art libraries.
Arts:Search
Arts:Search is digitizing most of the European and North American journals published between the 1830s and 1920s. This includes non-English titles as well.
Arts Journal
Arts Journal is a digest of stories culled from around the internet, including blogs and more than 200 English-language newspapers, magazines and publications featuring writing about arts and culture. The links are generally Open Access.
Cairn.info
Cairn.info offers the most comprehensive online collection of Francophone publications in social sciences and humanities.
Dictionary of Art Historians
A biographical and methodological database intended as a beginning point to learning the background of major art historians of western art history. A free, copyrighted, scholarly database for the use of researchers, students and the public.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. Be sure to "browse subjects" for Fine Arts publications.
Gallica
Provides access to tens of thousands of digital works (major editions, journals, dictionaries) and images. Texts are in French.
International Journal of Design
The International Journal of Design is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal devoted to publishing research papers in all fields of design, including industrial design, visual communication design, interface design, animation and game design, architectural design, and urban design. It aims to provide an international forum for the exchange of ideas and findings from researchers and encourages research on the impact of cultural factors on design theory and practice.
Kubikat
Kubikat is the collective catalogue of four of the leading German scholarly research institutes in the field of art history: Kunsthistorisches Institut in Florence, Max-Planck-Institut; Zentralinstitut für Kunstgeschichte in Munich; Deutsches Forum für Kunstgeschichte/Centre allemand d'histoire de l'art in Paris; and Bibliotheca Hertziana, Max Planck-Institut für Kunstgeschichte in Rome.
National Gallery Technical Bulletin
Published annually, the Bulletin draws on the combined expertise of curators, scientists and conservators, bringing together information about artists materials, practices and techniques for for conservators, conservation scientists, art historians, collectors and curators alike.

Access instructions for Google Scholar for FSU patrons:

Go to http://scholar.google.com
Click on the upper left menu icon and select "settings"
Click on "library links" on left side bar
Type "Florida State University" into the search box and search
Mark the check box for "Florida State University - Find It @ FSU"
Click "save"

For more on Google Scholar, see the FSU Libraries Google Scholar Research Guide.