Research Guides: War & Society: French Revolution & Napoleonic Wars

French Revolution & Napoleon @ FSU

FSU Special Collections & Archives houses one of the largest research collections in the world on Napoleonic studies and the French Revolution. Letters, journals, memoirs, newspapers, pamphlets and over 10,000 published books provide insight into the social, political, and military history of the times.

FSU is also home to the Institute on Napoleon and the French Revolution, a unique institution of graduate education in the History Department in the College of Arts and Sciences.It hosts an annual Weider History Conference bringing together early-career scholars from Europe and North America to present their cutting-edge research in the field of French Revolutionary historical study, organizes international conferences, publishes new research, sponsors a Distinguished Lecture Series at Florida State University, and is a founding member of the Consortium on the Revolutionary Era.

Institute on Napoleon and the French Revolution
Consortium on the Revolutionary Era
This interdisciplinary conference encourages scholars to present work on any topic related to the period 1750-1850 in any geographical location.

For more on these materials in the FSU Special Collections & Archives, visit:

French Revolution & Napoleon Collections
by Rory Grennan Last Updated Feb 22, 2024 249 views this year

Primary Sources

France

French Revolution Pamphlets Digital Initiative
Comprehensive digital collection of more than 38,000 pamphlets from the Newberry Library’s renowned collection of French revolutionary materials. Related resources include tools for teaching and research.
more...less...
French Revolution Collection (FRC): The French Revolution Collection consists of more than 30,000 pamphlets and more than 23,000 issues of 180 periodicals published between 1780 and 1810. The collection represents the opinions of all the factions that opposed and defended the monarchy during the turbulent period between 1789-1799 and also contains innumerable ephemeral publications of the early Republic.
French Revolution Pamphlet Collection
Collection of literary and satirical pamphlets held at Emory University.(1789-1799; transcriptions)
Liberté, Égalité, Fraternité: Exploring the French Revolution
An exhibit of documents, images, and music sourced from the Musée de la Révolution Française, Cornell University, and the U. S. Library of Congress. Includes 12 topical essays, 250 images, 350 text documents,13 songs, 13 maps, a timeline, and a glossary.
more...less...
A collaboration of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media at George Mason University and the American Social History Project at City University of New York, supported by grants from the Florence Gould Foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities.
L'Ami du peuple
1789-1792
Jean-Paul Marat's newspaper comprises nearly 700 issues. It is a notable example of French Revolutionary populism.

Great Britain

Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Read the news from London beginning in 1785 and throughout the revolutionary and Napoleonic eras. When searching historical newspapers, you may encounter unusual spelling and out-dated (or even offensive) terminology.
Abbreviation: tdar
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1785-1985, 2015-2019
Subjects: History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Images, Newspapers and Newswires
Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Collected by the Reverend Charles Burney, this unique collection represents the largest single archive of 17th and 18th century news media available from the British Library.
Abbreviation: bcn
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1603-1788
Subjects: History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires

The Americas

Caribbean Newspapers, Series I: 1718–1876 This link opens in a new window
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718–1876—the largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers published in this region—will provide a comprehensive primary resource for studying the development of Western society and international relations within this important group of islands. This unique resource will prove essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region as far back as the early 18th century.
Abbreviation: carinp
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1718-1876
Subjects: History, Latin American & Caribbean Studies
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
Accessible Archives This link opens in a new window
Select the Pennsylvania Gazette to read one of the most important newspapers in the North American colonies and the newly independent United States. Published by Benjamin Franklin in Philadelphia between 1728 and 1800.
Abbreviation: aacarc
Vendor: Accessible Archives
Subjects: African-American Studies, History, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Newspapers and Newswires

Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Collections Online is based on The English Short Title Catalogue, a machine-readable union list of the holdings of the British Library, as well as those from more than 1,500 university, private and public libraries worldwide. This includes over 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701–1800. This online collection is divided into seven subject areas: history and geography; social science and fine arts; medicine, science and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; and reference. Part II expands the collection with an emphasis on literature, social science, and religion.

FSU has access to parts one and two.
Abbreviation: 18thcen
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1701-1800
Subjects: History, Literature
Type: E-Book Collections, Historical / Primary Sources

French Revolution Digital Archive
A collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France. Includes two collections:
1. Archives parlementaires / Parliamentary archives
2. Images de la Révolution française / Images of the French Revolution
Gallica Digital Library
Gallica is the digital library of the Bibliothèque nationale de France. It has both primary and secondary sources.
Classiques Garnier Numerique -- La Revolution et l'Empire (The Writings of 19th century historians on the Revolution and Empire)
Provides full-text, key-word searchable access to primary texts and reference works.
Eurodocs: France, 1789-1871
(Richard Hacken, Brigham Young University) List of online documents.

U.K. Parliamentary Papers This link opens in a new window
U.K. Parliamentary Papers are vital to the historical record of Britain, its former colonies, and the wider world. The records are among the richest and most detailed primary sources for history of the 19th and 20th centuries. The collection currently includes:
- Bills and Acts 1695-1900 (House of Commons drafts of legislation, to be reviewed through various parliamentary stages.)
- Command Papers 1833-1900 (House of Commons government papers conveying information or decisions the Government wishes to draw to attention of the House, presented by Command of Her Majesty.)
- House of Commons Papers 1715-1900 (Documents resulting from the work of the House of Commons.)
- House of Commons Hansard, 1803-2005 (Transcription of debates)
- House of Lords Hansard, 1803-2005 (Transcription of debates)
Abbreviation: hcpp
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1695-2005
Subjects: History, International Affairs, Law, Political Science
Type: Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources

Décrets et Lois 1789-1795 : Collection Baudouin
Le projet ANR Rev-Loi met à disposition les 20 047 décrets et lois révolutionnaires de la Collection Baudouin pour les années 1789-1799.

Ambassadorial & Secret Service reports on Revolutionary and Napoleonic France (FO 27), 1781-1815 - Public Record Office
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 9406
Guide: STROZIER LIBRARY Micro DA47.1.A43 1984
CRL Guide: http://dds.crl.edu/CRLdelivery.asp?tid=13228

Diplomatic correspondence between England and France, 1802-1803 with an appendix
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 4318 no.18761
Includes some papers in French with English translation.

Despatches from United States ministers to France (1789-1906) - United States. Dept. of State.
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 436 France
General records of the US Department of State. Record Group 59. File microcopies of records in the US National Archives.

Notes from the French legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1789-1906 - France. Ambassade (U.S.)
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 510 France

Americana not in Sabin, Group 5: France and America during the French Revolution
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Mic 944.04
Most items in French. There does not appear to be a guide to this material. Search the catalog under the title "Americana not in Sabin" to get the full list of titles available. Some deal with French colonies, including Haiti.

Napoléon, sa Famille et son Entourage: Documents du Musée Historique d'État, Moscou
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 9528
Most items in French, some items in other languages, German, etc.; Pref. and Remerciements in English.
Guide: STROZIER LIBRARY Micr DC216 .N36 1998

Sources Statistiques de l'Histoire de France les Enquêtes des Préfets de l'Empire
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Mif 3724
Online Guide: http://images.crl.edu/100.pdf
Print Guide: STROZIER LIBRARY Micr HA1215.S68 1975 guide

French Royal and Administrative Acts, 1256-1794
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 9704
Guide: Marcel Lipkowitz. French royal and administrative acts, 1256-1794 : a subject guide to the New York Public Library collection of 16,000 pamphlets now on microfilm. NY: New York Public Library, Astor, Lenox and Tilden Foundations, 1978.
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- KJV270 .F74 1978-In-Library Use Only
Collection consists of approximately 16,000 pamphlets offering a wealth of information on the financial and political administration of France from the late thirteenth century to the end of the monarchy, with about three-fourths concentrating on the eighteenth century. Includes Arrets (the final judgments of an edict of the king by Parlements or royal courts or councils), Memoires (official reminders), Lettre Patentes (which established privileges), Royal Ordonnances (in response to petitions), and Remonstrances and Extraits. The subject matter varies widely and includes such topics as fiscal matters in the Chambres des Comptes, taxation and tariffs, toll collections and disputes, military administration, criminal justice, book printing and prohibitions, significant people and guilds.

Maclure Collection of French Revolutionary Materials
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 2669
Guide: STROZIER LIBRARY Micr Z2179 .P4
1460 volumes in 372 reels
French Revolutionary Pamphlets, Broadsides, and Ephemera

Journal de Paris No.1 (Jan. 1777)-no.181 (June 1827)
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film PR 246
Journaux éphéméres de la période de la révolution
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film PR 253 1788-1789
Consists of 95 titles issued in Paris 1789-1792.

Napoleonic Wars, 1805-1815 Napoleonovskie von̆y, 1805-1815 - Russian State Military History Archive, Moscow, Russia
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 9686
Guide: STROZIER LIBRARY Micr DC226.2.N34 2002

The Maclure Collection of FrenchRevolutionary Materials
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 2669
Reels: 1-372

Correspondance de Napoléon Ier; publiée par ordre de l'empereur Napoléon III. by Napoleon I Emperor of the French 1769-1821
Call Number: FSU STROZIER, Special Coll Napoleon Reference -- DC213.N2 1858
Publication Date: Paris, Imprimerie Impériale, 1858-69.
Digitized copies available on HathiTrust, v.1-32.
Correspondance générale Napoléon Bonaparte ; présentation du baron Gourgaud ; introduction générale de Jacques-Olivier Boudon by Napoleon I Emperor of the French 1769-1821
Call Number: FSU STROZIER, Special Coll Napoleon Reference -- DC213.N212 2004
Publication Date: Paris] : Fayard, c2004-
The dispatches of Field Marshal the Duke of Wellington : during his various campaigns in India, Denmark, Portugal, Spain, the Low Countries, and France from 1799 to 1818 compiled from official and authentic documents, by Lieut. Colonel Gurwood. by Wellington, Arthur Wellesley Duke of 1769-1852
Call Number: FSU STROZIER, Special Coll Napoleon Reference -- DA68.12.W4A2 1852
Publication Date: London : J. Murray, 1852.
Digitized copies available on HathiTrust, volumes 1-12
Les Actes des apôtres (1789-1791): un journal royaliste en 1789 by Pellet, Marcellin 1849-
Call Number: FSU STROZIER, Special Coll Napoleon -- DC140.A23P4
Publication Date: Paris, Le Chevalier, 1873
Digitized copy available on HathiTrust
[Napoleonic miscellany : French language pamphlets, extracted periodical articles, and leaflets relating to Napoleón, the French Revolution, and the Napoleonic period.]
Call Number: FSU STROZIER, Special Coll Rare -- DC197.N35
Publication Date: 1860-1967
11 Boxes
[Napoleonic miscellany : German language pamphlets, extracted periodical articles, and leaflets relating to Napoléon, the French Revolution and the Napoleonic period.]
Call Number: FSU STROZIER, Special Coll Rare -- DC197.N36
Publication Date: [1815-1932]

Internet Modern History Sourcebook: the French Revolution.
Fordham University's directory of freely-available primary and secondary source material on the Web.
Europeana Collections
Materials from galleries, libraries, archives and museums from all over Europe that want to share their collections with a wider audience.
The Napoleon Series
Acknowledging the extraordinary talents of the man who defined an age (1789-1821) and the remarkable men and women who peopled and shaped it, the Napoleon Series seeks to promote the continued, scholarly exploration of that age. The Napoleon Series is dedicated to the free exchange of ideas and information with good will, intellectual integrity, and respect for divergent perspectives, journeying in international fellowship to probe and illuminate the history of an era whose reverberations still echo today.
Exploring the French Revolution
This great site is a collaboration of the Center for History and New Media (George Mason University) and the American Social History Project (City University of New York). It serves as a useful and lively introduction to the French Revolution as well as a repository of many key documents from the era. Among its offerings are numerous essays, 245 images, 338 text documents, 13 songs, a timeline, a glossary, and short audiovisual lectures from leading historians. The site should help visitors understand the causes of the French Revolution and the reasons for its radicalization. Furthermore, there are commentaries on the French Revolution by Thomas Jefferson and other prominent Americans of the time. In all, Exploring the French Revolution is an engaging resource for learning and teaching about the French Revolution.
Napoleon.org - The history website of the Fondation Napoléon
Whether you're a fan or a specialist, a young historian or just landed here by accident, this site offers a detailed account of the history of the two great French Empires. There are timelines, bibliographies and articles, there are "focus on" files and commentaries on Napoleonic imagery, and there are pages bringing you the basic info as well as a wealth of more detailed documentation. It's a Napoleonic one-stop shop!
The French Revolution: A Resource Guide
Historical evidence and interpretation including background, books, documents, internet guides, maps, pictorial resources, scholarly journals, songs and videos. Produced by Carnegie Mellon University.
French Revolution Resources - The History Guide
A list of Internet resources useful to the study of the French Revolution and its subsequent impact on 19th century European history.