A library guide to help students enrolled in the Sociology Department and/or Sociology classes.
Welcome to FSU Libraries Research Guide for Sociology. Use this guide to find articles, search the online catalog, and more.
- Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
Includes definitions and explanations of key concepts; recent developments; introductions to sociological theories and research; cross-referenced and searchable; timeline; lexicon by subject area; extensive bibliographies; table of contents; citations are provided.
- Encyclopedia of Social Theory
Cutting-edge topics, such as globalization, consumption,
complexity theory, and actor network theory, and it provides state-of-the-art interpretations of long-established theories.
- World Fact Book
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
To find the full text of the article, click on a link to the full text or the button in the database. Many journals are available online, but some are in the Libraries' print collection. Articles from journals not available at FSU may be requested through interlibrary loan.
- Sociological Abstracts
Sociology-related topics such as: abuse and neglect, aging, anthropology, criminology, crisis intervention, demography, education, ethnic studies, law and penology, social psychology, urban studies, violence, and women's studies.
- ISI Web of Science
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction since 1962.
- Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,650 journals, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 8,450 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
- Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Promotes policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
A database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
- Social Explorer
An online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information
- GeoLytics Census 2010 Summary File 1
2010 Summary File (SF1) in 2000 Boundaries: Provides the same variables and provides all of the same details about the population of the United States. It is a 100 % count of all Americans. It includes race, Hispanics, age of head of household, age of children, presence of older relatives, composition of the family, family size, rent vs. own, etc. with the same 2000 geographic boundaries that were used in the 2000 Long Form (SF3) including: Nation, State, County, Tract, Block Group, MCD/CCD, Place, Congressional divisions and Zip (ZCTA), MSA, CMSA, PMSA and Native Lands. And it can run a radius from a Latitude/Longitude coordinate.
- GeoLytics Neighborhood Change Data
1970, 1980, 1990 and 2000 at the census tract level to do time series analysis (looking at the changes of a given location across time), which includes an extensive subset of census variables - about 1,000 variables for each decade. Evaluate population trends without having to control for changes in boundary definitions. The year specific boundaries are also included to do tract level geographies and making it very easy to compare data across censuses.
- Department of Sociology
A thriving department dedicated to excellence in teaching, research, and service with a world-class faculty who are publishing cutting-edge research. The program ranks among the top 25 sociology departments at public universities in the United States, and the Health and Aging program and Sex and Gender program is ranked among the top 10 in the nation.