This is the "Home" page of the "Shakespearean Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Shakespearean Literature   Tags: drama, english, literary_criticism, literature, research, shakespeare  

Welcome to the FSU Libraries' guide to resources on Shakespearean Literature. Please contact me with any questions. Happy searching!
Last Updated: Apr 9, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.fsu.edu/shakespeare Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Welcome to the FSU Libraries' guide to Shakespearean Literature.  Use the tabs across the top of the page to find sources and information on Shakespeare.   William Shakespeare. Digital ID: 1630421. New York Public Library

William Shakespeare, L.J. Binns caricatures, 1901-1915.  (Source: NYPL Digital Gallery)

 

Gary Taylor

FSU faculty member Gary Taylor is a world-reknown scholar of Shakespeare. Here are some of his books available in the FSU catalog:

Cover Art
Reinventing Shakespeare : a cultural history, from the Restoration to the present
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 5th Floor--PR2965 .T39 1989

Shakespeare Reshaped
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 5th Floor--PR3095 .T39 1993

William Shakespeare, a textual companion
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 5th Floor -- PR3071.W44 1987

Moment by moment by Shakespeare
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 5th Floor -- PR2976.T27 1985b

To analyze delight : a hedonist criticism of Shakespeare
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 5th Floor -- PR2976.T27 1985

Key Resources

Use these databases to find articles on Shakespeare and his writings. If you are off-campus, make sure to login through the FSU website on the "Off Campus Access" link.

To find the full text of the article, click on a link to the full text or the   button in the database.  Many journals are available online, but some are in the Libraries' print collection.   Articles from journals not available at FSU may be requested through interlibrary loan.

  • MLA International Bibliography
    Multilingual index to books and journals in the fields of literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from 1926-present
  • JSTOR
    (1776 - )
    A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 yea
  • Arts and Humanities Citation Index
    Explore the world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. Powerful tools include cited reference searching, Citation Maps, and the Analyze Tool.
  • Project MUSE  
      
    (1993 - )

    Provides access to the full-text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press.
  • Oxford Bibliographies Online - Shakespeare
    Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers authoritative research guides on a wide variety of topics. Find introductory essays and annotated lists of books and articles to help you with your research.

Interesting News

  • FSU expert is lead editor of new collection of Shakespeare's works
    Gary Taylor, world-renowned Shakespeare scholar and professor in the Department of English, will be the lead editor of the new Oxford University Press collection of Shakespeare's works.
  • 20 Things you never knew about Shakespeare
    Interesting and rather entertaining article in the UK Times in which bard scholars give their opinions on age-old questions like, "what were his favorite books?" and "did he keep a pet?" Keep in mind that these are informed opinions and not facts.
 

Search the FSU Catalog

(hints)

advanced
| renewals / library account

Humanities Librarian

Profile Image
Abby Scheel
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Office: 0027H
Scholars Commons
Strozier Library
Phone: (850) 645-2163
Email: ascheel@fsu.edu
Send Email
Office Hours:
Tue. 2:30pm-4:30pm (Dodd 182e)
Education:
MLIS, MA Classical archaeology
Areas of Responsibility:
Classics, English, HoTT, Philosophy, Religion
 

Guide Author

Guide Created by Erin Gallagher, 2010

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip