Welcome
Welcome to the Florida State University Libraries guide to African American Literature. Use the tabs across the top of the page to find sources and information on authors and their works. Please contact me with any questions. Happy searching!

Langston Hughes, 29 February 1936, by Carl Van Vechten. Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division, Van Vechten Collection.
Need one-on-one help?
- Reseach Consultation Request FormNeed help finding resources or using the FSU catalog, databases, or the web? Request a Research consultation with a librarian. We would appreciate 48 hours notice for scheduling your appointment. If you need assistance before 48 hours, please stop by the reference desk or use Ask-Us-Now live chat.
Key Resources
Use these databases to find articles on African American Literature:
- Arts and Humanities Citation IndexExplore the world’s leading citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 high-impact journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage for over 120,000 conferences. Powerful tools include cited reference searching, Citation Maps, and the Analyze Tool.
- JSTOR(1776 - )
A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 yea - Literature Resource CenterIncludes Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism Select Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.
- MLA Bibliography(1926 - )
Multilingual index to books and journals in the fields of literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from 1926-present - MLA Literary Research GuideAn Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies
- Project MUSE (1993 - )
Provides access to the full-text of more than 200 scholarly journals published by the Johns Hopkins University Press.
Search the FSU Catalog
Humanities Librarian |
Contact Info Office: 0027H Scholars Commons Strozier Library Phone: (850) 645-2163 Email: ascheel@fsu.edu Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Office Hours: Tue. 1pm-3pm (Dodd 182e) and Wed. 10am-12pm (WMS 437) Education: MLIS, MA Classical archaeology Areas of Responsibility: Classics, English, HoTT, Philosophy, Religion |
Guide Author
Guide Created by Erin Gallagher, 2010



Loading...
