Research Guides: Art Therapy: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the FSU Libraries' Art Therapy Research Guide

Catalog Tips and Tricks

These are my recommendations for your best bets in researching Art Therapy topics. For additional links and resources please see the navigation bar on the left side of this research guide.

Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source is the largest full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.
Abbreviation: eas
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1914-present
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a digital library more than 1.5 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
The ARTstor Digital Library is used by educators, scholars, and students at a variety of institutions including universities, colleges, museums, public libraries, and K-12 schools. The Digital Library serves users both within the arts and in disciplines outside of the arts. This includes historians of art and architecture and others engaged in the visual arts, as well as individuals in fields as diverse as American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Literary Studies, Medieval Studies, Music, Religious Studies, and Renaissance Studies, all of whom find the images in ARTstor to be relevant to their teaching and research.

Tutorials:
Using ARTstor
Training videos on YouTube

Abbreviation: artstor
Vendor: ARTstor
Subjects: Archaeology, Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Classics, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art
Type: Images
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Plus with Full Text research database provides full text for hundreds of nursing and allied health journals indexed in the CINAHL database, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937 and expanded content. Additional materials included in CINAHL Plus with Full Text include Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons which provide concise overviews of diseases and conditions and outline the most effective treatment options.
Tutorials:
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (Video)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Pocket Guide (PDF)
CINAHL User Guide (doc, 40 pages)
Training Tutorials for EBSCO Products

Phone Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: cinahlft
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1937-Current
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ERIC (ProQuest) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
Coverage includes:
Adult, career and vocational education
Counseling
Elementary and early childhood education
Education management
Higher education
Junior colleges
Second-language learning
Special education
Teacher education
Tests, measurement and evaluation

Abbreviation: ericcsa
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1966-Current
Subjects: Art Education, Art Therapy, Education, Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Music Therapy, Rhetoric & Composition, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Use the Library of Congress Classification Outline to browse for books in your subject area. Here are some examples for Art Therapy to get you started:

N --- Fine Arts
NB --- Sculpture
NC --- Drawing, Design, and Illustration
ND --- Painting
NE --- Print Media
NK --- Decorative Arts
NX --- Arts in General
RC (489) --- Therapeutics and Psychotherapy
TR --- Photography
TT --- Handicrafts, Arts, and Crafts

The following are just a few subject headings that may be used when searching the Libraries' catalog:

Adolescent psychotherapy
Alternative medicine
Art and mental illness
Art in hospitals
Art -- Psychology
Art therapists
Art therapy
Arts -- Therapeutic use
Child psychotherapy
Children's drawings -- Psychological aspects
Communication in art
Creation (literary, artistic, etc.) -- Therapeutic use
Drawing, Psychology of
Grief in art
Group psychotherapy
Imagery (psychology) -- Therapeutic use
Occupational therapy
Psychotherapy

http://beets1278.blogspot.com/2012/10/boolean-logic-is-not-logical.html

These FSU Research Guides may be of interest to your research; a full list of guides can be found here. Each guide will also include contact information for the subject librarian in that area of study: