Welcome to the Florida State University Libraries guide for Federal Legislation. Use the tabs across the top of the page to find sources
and information on federal legislation. You might want to look at the content under several tabs, since much of this information is related and doesn't always neatly fit under only one heading.
Federal Legislative History Research is a very useful guide compiled by the FSU College of Law Research Center.
- CQ Press Political Reference Suite
This database combines many of CQ's most well- known government and political titles into a single searchable database. It includes such titles as the Political Handbook of the world, Elections A to Z, the Federal Regulatory Directory and the Washington Information Directory and covers such topics as International Affairs, Congress, Law and the Courts, Elections and Political Behavior, the Presidency and Politics and History.
- CQ Weekly
CQ Weekly provides nonpartisan information on Capitol Hill, legislative news and analysis of events. This also includes votes by the House of Representatives and Senate of the United States
- Homeland Security Digital Library
Quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations. In Library Access only for some collections but the following is available to the public: CRS reports; Congressional Budget Office (CBO) reports; Congressional hearings, reports, documents, resolutions and public laws; GAO reports, Inspector General reports, Presidential directives, etc.
- Legislative Insight
Congress produces a variety of publications as a bill moves through the legislative process on its way to becoming a law. A compilation of these full text primary source publications produces a legislative history that is valuable to a wide variety of researchers. Legislative histories enable users to trace the development of a public law from its early consideration to its enactment, including development that spans more than one Congress.
- Major Acts of Congress
Gale Virtual Reference Lbrary
- Proquest Congressional
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set- Lexis Nexis
A collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress. It includes Congressional reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress. The LexisNexis U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection is powerfully indexed, easy to use, and lets you search across multiple other collections in the LexisNexis Congressional platform for more comprehensive results. LexisNexis Serial Set coverage begins in 1789 and will continue.
- LLSDC's LEGISLATIVE SOURCE BOOK
From the Law Librarian's Society of Washington, D.C., this is an excellent source for legislative information. It contains researching legislative histories, current status of legislation from the 106th-current Congresses, overview of key publications such as the Congressional Record and much more.
Identifies contact information for elected leaders in Congress, the White House, state legislatures and more.
- CRS Reports
"The Congressional Research Service, an arm of the Library of Congress, serves the legislative process by providing Congress with non-partisan and in-depth legislative research and analysis on a variety of topics." Can browse by subject or report title.
- Earmarks (OMB)
Earmarks are funds provided by the Congress for projects or programs where the congressional direction (in bill or report language) circumvents the merit-based or competitive allocation process, or specifies the location or recipient, or otherwise curtails the ability of the Executive Branch to properly allocate funds.
- Earmarks Database
Earmark data from the U.S. Congress is now searchable for FY 2008, 2009, 2010
- House Expenditure Reports
- Senate Gift Rule Database
- U.S. Congress Votes Database
Browse every vote in the U.S. Congress since 1991.