Skip to main content

Getting Started at FSU Libraries

This guide will serve as an introduction to using FSU Libraries' resources and services and provide useful information about how to research in a university environment.

What is a library database?

A library database is an organized collection of electronic information that allows a user to search for a particular topic, article, or book. Library databases contain published works which are written by professionals or experts in the field and provide citation information such as author, title, publication, publisher, etc. It is searchable in a variety of ways (e.g. keyword, subject, author, title, date, etc.) 

How to access FSU library databases

FSU libraries provide about 550 databases ranging from general reference collections to specially designed, subject-specific databases. Our library databases offer a variety of proprietary full text databases and popular databases including journals, magazines, and newspapers, as well as books from leading information providers. 

Access FSU library databases
Use your FSUID and password to logon to FSU library databases (The same credentials as BlackBoard). Unfortunately, we are unable to provide off-campus access to non-active students and staff due to licensing restrictions by our database vendors. If you are not currently enrolled in classes for the current semester (semesters are Fall, Spring, and Summer), are auditing a class, or are not actively employed by Florida State University, you will be unable to access these resources from off-campus. 
If your password is not being recognized, and you're an active student or faculty, you will need to contact the FSU Help Desk to reset your password: (850) 644-HELP (4357)

Search for databases at FSU Libraries
You can find the databases from our library homepage by clicking 'Databases' menu and search by keyword or 'Most Used Databases'. 'More Databases...', links more browsing options including searching our A-Z list of all databases.   

Video Tutorial

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

© 2016 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706