This is the "Home" page of the "Government Shutdown" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Shutdown  

This guide lists websites that are shutdown and will help you locate alternative sources to use instead of some of the websites that are currently down or not being updated
Last Updated: Oct 17, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.fsu.edu/governmentshutdown Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Government Shutdown is Over

The information in this guide is now for archival purposes since

Congress ended the Government Shutdown early in the morning on October 17, 2013.

From the Washington Post "Here’s the bill that will end the government shutdown"

Furloughed federal workers will begin reporting to work on October 17, 2013.

 

Government Shutdown

Government Shutdown: What's Closed, What's Opened
CNN

USA.gov Government Shutdown
Information on the effects of the government shutdown

Absolutely Everything you Need to Know about How the Government Shutdown will work
Washington Post Blog

GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) will be updated, with Congressional and Federal Register information only.

Those looking for financial data to assess the impact of a shutdown will have to do it without help from the Congressional Budget Office and the Census, both of which are closing. The Bureau of Labor Statistics, which is scheduled to issue its monthly jobs report this Friday, is also closing.

Government Shutdown Operations of the Department of Defense During a Lapse in Appropriations
CRS Report, September 26, 2013

 

Status of Selected Government Websites and Possible Alternatives

Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) is shutdown. Partial workaround use the Business guide

Business.gov is shutdown. use the Business guide

U.S. Census- use the following databases: Social Explorer, (only 1 user at a time), Demographics Now, Statistical Abstract of the US, (older volumes in Documents C3.134:), Historical Census Browser
   Missouri Census Data Center  American Community Survey Profiles

U.S. Government Accountability Site is up but not being updated.

U.S. Dept. of Education Site is up but not being updated.
National Center for Education Statistics- site is shutdown. Partial workaround- Use the Digest of education statistics, 2011, on Reserve in the Scholars Commons, Strozier Library, ground floor.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Site is up but not being updated See Public Health Research Guide or the Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module for alternative resources.

National Park Service- Site is shutdown.

USDA Site is shutdown. Partial workaround- Use the Agricola database or The USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information System (ESMIS) collaboraton between The Mann Library at Cornell University and USDA.

U.S. Dept. of Labor Site is up but not being updated.
Bureau of Labor Statistics Site is up but not being updated. Partial workaround- Use the Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics, 2013.

DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) will continue to make available OSTI databases, search tools and web pages available, including SciTech Connect and Science Accelerator

NASA- Site is shutdown.

The ERIC government site is not accessible. The versions of ERIC from commercial database providers (EBSCOhost & Proquest) can be accessed, but are not being updated. For possible full-text to recent titles check online or the online catalog and for ERIC documents (citation begins with ED##), if not too recent, check the Libraries' ERIC microfiche collection in the Scholars Commons, Strozier Library, ground floor. Can access some ERIC articles through usagov

U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services Site is up but not being updated. Partial workaound- Use the Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module

U.S. Dept. of Justice Site is up but not being updated.

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System Site is working.

Library of Congress site is up but not being updated. The Legislative sites Thomas.gov and Beta.Congress.gov are working.

NOAA.gov and most associated sites are shutdown, except for: Weather.gov 

USGS site is down. Associated sites are working. DiseaseMaps
Coastal Change Hazards: Hurricanes and Extreme Storms
Emergency Operations
Volcano Hazards Program
Water Resources of the United States

Research Librarian

Profile Image
Marcia Gorin
Contact Info
Scholars Commons
Strozier Library
850-645-2708
Send Email

Database Coverage of the Government Shutdown

  • Congressional (ProQuest)
    ProQuest (Lexis-Nexis) Congressional Universe provides a comprehensive view of congressional action and the behind-the-scenes activity involved in crafting U.S. legislation. It includes the Congressional Research Digital Collection (CRDC), Committee Prints and CRS Reports (1824-Present), Statutes at Large (1789-present), and the Serial Set (1789-1969).
  • Lexis Nexis Academic
    Full-text coverage of general news, business, legal, governmental and other topics.
  • NewsBank InfoWeb
    A Web-based collection of primary source information from regional, national and international newspapers, newswires, government and international documents, regional business journals and, periodicals.
  • Omnifile
    H.W. Wilson's most comprehensive database, providing indexed and abstracted records with accompanying full text from over 1300 periodicals. Indexing begins in 1982, abstracts in 1984, and full-text coverage in 1994. Content includes that in Humanities and Social Science Full Text.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 7,000 full-text periodicals, including nearly 6,000 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 11,000 journals and a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
  • Wall Street Journal  
      
  • CQ Weekly
    CQ Weekly provides nonpartisan information on Capitol Hill, legislative news and analysis of events. This also includes votes by the House of Representatives and Senate of the United States
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip