FSU Involvement
The Oil Spill Academic Task Force is coordinated by FSU and composed of all the State Universities and four private universities. As part of its responsibilities, this task force is serving as a clearinghouse of information, which is displayed on this website.
Deep-C Consortium "The Deep-C Consortium proposes a long-term, interdisciplinary study of deep-sea-to-coast connectivity in the northeastern Gulf of Mexico." Other members of this consortium in addition to FSU are the Dauphin Island Sea Lab, Georgia Institute of Technology, the Naval Research Laboratory at the Stennis Space Center, Norwegian Meterological Institute, Science Appllication International Corporation, the University of Miami, the University of South Florida, the University of West Florida, and the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution.
Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill: Research at FSU Hosted by the FSU Center for Ocean-Atmospheric Prediction Studies.
Library Databases
- Web of Science, ISIIncludes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text.
- GeoRef
- ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts*
- Meterological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts
- GreenFile"EBSCO proudly offers GreenFILE, a freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. "
- ABI/INFORM Global
- Homeland Security Digital LibraryThis collection provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations. Not everything available off campus.
- Lexis Nexis CongressionalSearching for "oil spill" will yield very recent full-text Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports, not available online. Four of the reports were published since the crisis began and the report entitled, "Oil Spills, CRS Experts" lists contact information for CRS experts on policy issues relating to oil spills. This database will also retrieve related hearings and other congressional materials, some that are full-text.
Journal Article Sources
Deepwater Horizon Response
Deepwater Horizon Response is the official site of the Deepwater Horizon Unified Command. Some of the partners in the Unified Command are BP, Transocean, NOAA, EPA, U.S. Department of the Interior, Mineral Management Service, U.S. Department of Homeland Security, U.S. Department of the Interior, U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, U.S. Department of Defense, National Park Service, United States Coast Guard, and the U.S. Department of State.
Websites
- Deepwater Horizon Joint Investigation Team Releases Final Report
- Galeta Oil Spill Project, April 27, 1986Information and data from the Oil Spill in Bahia Las Minas, Panama, on the Caribbean of April 27, 1986, presented by the Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute.
- Gulf of Mexico Oil Spill UpdatesSite contains some useful reports and other information.
American Petroleum Institute. - Oil & Gas (OpenSecrets.org)Amount of money and contributed and influence this industry has had in national politics.
- Oil Spills: MedlinePlus
- GeoPlatform - Gulf ResponseGeoPlatform.gov/gulfresponse is a new online tool that provides you with near-real time information about the response effort. Developed by NOAA with the EPA, U.S. Coast Guard, and the Department of Interior, the site offers you a “one-stop shop” for spill response information.
Resources at Other Libraries
The Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill Incident 2010 Bibliography - Paula Webb, Reference and Electronic Resources Government Documents Librarian, University of South Alabama
Gulf of Mexico Oil Spill - Texas A&M University
Gulf Oil Spill Information Center - USF Libraries
Biological effects of oil pollution - a comprehensive bibliography with abstracts (1978) - U.S. Coast Guard Office of Research and Development
Effects of Offshore Oil and Gas Development: A Current Awareness Bibliography (1994) - web-based version here
LUMCON Dispersants Bibliography
Resources on oil spills, response, and restoration: A selected bibliography (2010) - from NOAA
An annotated bibliography on petroleum pollution (2007) - Peter H. Albers, USGS
Deepwater Horizon Gulf Oil Spill - National Defense University Library
Gulf Coast Oil Spill (BP/Deepwater Horizon) – A Selected Bibliography (July 2011)
Research Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Science Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Computer Science, Environmental Science, Geology, Mathematics, Meteorology, Oceanography, Scientific Computing, Statistics Office Hours: M - F by appointment; "Ask Us Now" 11am-12pm M, 1pm-3pm T Education: M.S., Library Studies, FSU; M.S., Computer Science, FSU: B.S., Mathematics, FSU Research Interests: Digital Scholarship, open access, virtual worlds |







Loading...
