This is the "Home" page of the "Humanities" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Humanities   Tags: culture, drama, english, humanities, literature, philosophy, religion  

This broad research guide will help students find scholarship for Humanities-based discliplines
Last Updated: Apr 19, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.fsu.edu/humanities Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What are the Humanities?

The Vitruvian Man, Leonardo Da Vinci

The term "Humanities" covers a vast range of disciplines, but as a broad idea is concerned overall with the human condition. Topics that fall under the consideration of the Humanities are (but are not limited to) philosophy, religion, popular culture, music, literature, visual and performing arts, classics, languages, and history.

Need one-on-one help?

  • Reseach Consultation Request Form
    Need help finding resources or using the FSU catalog, databases, or the web? Request a Research consultation with a librarian. We would appreciate 48 hours notice for scheduling your appointment. If you need assistance before 48 hours, please stop by the reference desk or use Ask-Us-Now live chat.
 

Guide Author

This guide created by Jessica Critten and edited by Jane Marie Pinzino (2011).

 

Using this LibGuide

Welcome to the Humanities LibGuide! Use this guide as an entryway to find books, articles, and internet resources in the many disciplines that fall under the broad umbrella of "Humanities." For more targeted research in specific subjects, make sure to explore the other libguides listed under the "Helpful LibGuides" tab or contact us to schedule a one-on-one research consultation.

Key Resources

If you are off-campus, make sure to login through the FSU website on the "Off Campus Access" link.

To find the full text of the article, click on a link to the full text or the   button in the database.  Many journals are available online, but some are in the Libraries' print collection.   Articles from journals not available at FSU may be requested through interlibrary loan.

  • JSTOR
    A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.
  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index
    Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database indexing more than 1,100 arts and humanities journals, as well as relevant references from over 6,800 science and social sciences periodicals.
  • ITER
    The Iter bibliography addresses many aspects of the Middle Ages and Renaissance--including archaeology, art, history, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and history of science--covering the years 400 - 1700. It provides citations for books, journal material published since 1842 (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies), and citations for essays in books published since 1993.
  • Project MUSE
    Provides full text access to 200+ scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Subjects include art, anthropology, classics, culture, society, demographics, economics, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, medicine, etc.
  • Humanities and Social Sciences Full Text (plus Retrospective)
    Humanities & Social Sciences Full Text brings you full text plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines.
  • Oxford Bibliographies Online
    Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers authoritative research guides on a wide variety of topics. Find introductory essays and annotated lists of books and articles to help you with your research.

Humanities Librarian

Profile Image
Abby Scheel
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Office: 0027H
Scholars Commons
Strozier Library
Phone: (850) 645-2163
Email: ascheel@fsu.edu
Send Email
Office Hours:
Tue. 1pm-3pm (Dodd 182e) and Wed. 10am-12pm (WMS 437)
Education:
MLIS, MA Classical archaeology
Areas of Responsibility:
Classics, English, HoTT, Philosophy, Religion

Research Librarian: Humanities

Profile Image
Sarah Buck Kachaluba
Contact Info
Research Librarian
Robert Manning Strozier Library
116 Honors Way
PO Box 3062047
Tallahassee, FL 32306-2047
(850) 645-2600
sbuckkachaluba@fsu.edu
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip