Skip to main content
Welcome to the Mythology Subject Guide. Use this guide to conduct research in a wide range of topics related to Classical and world mythology.
This Home tab includes general resources for finding research and images related to mythology. The Classical Mythology tab contains resources about Greek and Roman mythology. The World Mythology tab includes resources for mythology around the world. Find other useful guides and tools for citing your sources under the Citing sources and other resources tab.
Finding Journal Articles
An archive of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.
Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for more than 4,650 journals, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 8,450 journals. This scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Ancient World Open Bibliography
An open access wiki devoted to bibliographies for scholarship about the ancient world developed by scholars and graduate-level students. New bibliographies are added constantly.
ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Includes images relevant to Classical Studies.
Getty Search Gateway - Open Content Images
The J. Paul Getty Trust has made thousands of images from the world famous Getty Museum available freely online. Search the Getty Search Gateway for classical objects and images.
Digitized library of art works from ancient Greece to the present.
The Encyclopedia Mythica is an online encyclopedia about mythology, folklore, and legends. In addition to over 7,000 entries, the site also offers an image gallery.
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference resources.
Find Books @ Other Libraries
Books in libraries other than FSU may be requested through UBORROW or Interlibrary Loan. FSU students and faculty may personally check out books from any state university or community college library in Florida by using their FSU card.
Borrow books from any of the 11 state universities in Florida. It's faster than ILL and renewals can be requested. Start by searching the FSU catalog, then click on the blue UBorrow icon at the top of your search results. Select the book you want and click on the blue UBorrow link again to request it.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Request books and journal articles from libraries around the world. Use ILL to request materials not available at FSU.
Catalog of library collections across the U.S. and around the world. Useful for verifying bibliographic information and for identifying libraries that have a particular item.