Catalog of digital historical newspapers published in the United States and the Caribbean.
Want to learn more about U.S. newspapers and newspaper publishing before the Civil War. Check out these great tutorial videos and bibliography put together by the librarians at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
Provides a unique historical perspective into the southeastern US of the late 19th-early 20th centuries. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to 1868. Current coverage 1868-1984.
Provides a unique historical perspective of the development of Chicago and the Midwest in the 19th and 20th centuries. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to 1849. Updates vary, current coverage 1849-1992.
All 103 issues of the Freedom's Journal have been digitized by the Wisconsin Historical Society and are on this website. According to this site this newspaper "provided international, national, and regional information on current events and contained editorials declaiming slavery, lynching, and other injustices. The Journal also published biographies of prominent African-Americans and listings of births, deaths, and marriages in the African-American New York community. "
Offers full-page-images and article images from the New York Times newspaper from its first issue in 1851 to two years before the current date. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand primary source accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 (Readex) provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states,including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
One of the darker chapters in American history and one of the lesser discussed events of World War II was the forced internment, during the war, of an important segment of the American population-persons of Japanese descent. This collection, consisting of 25 individual titles, documents life in the internment camps.
Publishers Weekly Digital Archive (1872-2013): Continuously published since 1872, Publishers Weekly has consistently been the authoritative voice for US publishing industry news and book reviews, with ongoing coverage of the British book trade. The complete archive includes nearly 200,000 book reviews, and bestseller lists from 1895 forward.
Readers’ Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature. This resource offers researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.
"The C-SPAN Archives records, indexes, and archives all C-SPAN programming for historical, educational, research, and archival uses. Every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 160,000 hours, is contained in the C-SPAN Archives and immediately accessible through the database and electronic archival systems developed and maintained by the C-SPAN Archives."
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive
"The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. "