Skip to main content
Patent Searching through FSU Libraries
Derwent Innovations Index - Web of Science
Covers over 14.3 million basic inventions from 40 worldwide patent-issuing authorities. DII facilitates rapid, precise patent searching, letting you conduct patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering.
Includes value-added chemical indexing for over 61 patent authorities.
*You must first create an account to use this database!
Free Patent Databases
European Patent Office - esp@cenet
Esp@cenet contains European patents, World patents, and patent applications. Ability to search patents by origin country (i.e. CN for China). Downloadable and printable in PDF.
Free Patents Online
Patent search and online research community - developing tools to make searching world’s patent data easier and more convenient.
The content is provided by the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) and consists of patents issued in the 1790s to within the last couple of months and millions of patent applications. The entire collection is full-text searchable. However, there were some errors in the scanning, leaving some text rendered incorrectly.
The Lens (previously Patent Lens)
Contains US patents from 1976+, European, World, and Australian patents. Contains patent applications from U.S., World, and Australia. Searches full-text, downloadable into RIS format.
You must have a patent number, but a quick way to find a downloadable copy of US Patents.
More than 68 million patent documents, including international patent applications, available through the World Intellectual Property Organization
United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) Patent Full-Text Databases
Full-image patents from 1790 to present. 1790-1975 can be searched by date, current U. S. classification number or patent number only. 1976-Present is full text searchable. Requires installation of TIFF viewer plug-in in order to view images. A list of missing patents is available at http://www.uspto.gov/patft/help/contents.htm
Database of patents open for public comment, PDF downloading of patents, and free patent translation into multiple languages.
STEM Research & Learning Librarian