A guide for resources in Philosophy.
Welcome to the Research Guide for Philosophy. Use this guide to find articles and databases, as well as internet resources and citation assistance.
To find the full text of the article, click on a link to the full text or the button in the database. Many journals are available online, but some are in the Libraries' print collection. Articles from journals not available at FSU may be requested through interlibrary loan.
- International Encyclopedia of Ethics
A new online reference source from Wiley-Blackwell. Features articles from two FSU authors, Dr. John Kelsay and Dr. Sumner Twiss.
- Past Masters
Intelex's Past Masters series is one of the largest collections of full-text electronic editions in philosophy. FSU has access to their extensive database on the history and philosophy of science, as well as other philosophical works
- Philosopher's Index
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals in the areas of aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic and metaphysics. It is also a rich source of material on the philosophy of various disciplines, such as education, history, law, religion and science. Philosopher's Index covers from 1940 to present.
PhilPapers is a comprehensive directory of online philosophical articles and books by academic philosophers. We monitor journals in many areas of philosophy, as well as archives and personal pages. We also accept articles directly from users, who can provide links or upload copies. Some features require that you sign in first, but creating an account is easy and free.
- Encyclopedia of Philosophy
English-language reference source for philosophy," has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students and educators.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
From its inception, the SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research.
- Oxford Scholarship Online
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 1,100 Oxford books in the areas of Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online - Philosophy
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers authoritative research guides on a wide variety of topics. Find introductory essays and annotated lists of books and articles to help you with your research.
- Oxford Handbooks in Philosophy
Oxford Handbooks in Philosophy bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss the latest thinking in a range of major topics in philosophy. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
- Oxford Handbooks in Religion
Oxford Handbooks in Religion bring together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in religion. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.
- Oxford English Dictionary
Traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
- CRL Religion and Philosophy Collections
The Center for Research Libraries, located in Chicago, IL, serves the academic research community with specialized collections of primary sources that may be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.
- Online Library of Liberty
Liberty Fund, Inc. is a private, educational foundation established to encourage the study of the ideal of a society of free and responsible individuals. Founded in 1960, the LF website offers a variety of resources, including full-text primary source documents, bibliographies and biographies.
Phone: (850) 645-2163
Email: firstname.lastname@example.orgSend Email
Tue. 1pm-3pm (Dodd 182e) and Wed. 10am-12pm (WMS 437)
MLIS, MA Classical archaeology
Areas of Responsibility:
Classics, English, HoTT, Philosophy, Religion