Examples of primary sources that could be used for the study of United States history are well represented throughout this guide. Consider the many US government document, US newspapers, and other materials available at FSU Libraries.
Below are a selection of digital collections and resources the cover specialized subjects or time periods. If you are having trouble identifying or locating primary sources for your research project, be sure to contact the History Librarian or an FSU Archivist for assistance.
Formerly American Indian Histories and Cultures, the wide range of material included in Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America presents a unique insight into interactions between Indigenous Peoples in North America and European colonists from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century. This resource contains material from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection; one of the strongest archival collections on histories of Indigenous Peoples in North America in the world.
Formerly American Indian Newspapers, Indigenous Newspapers in North America aims to present a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016.
This link opens in a new windowWhen searching for materials about indigenous peoples of the Americas, note that the subject headings often use "Indians" to describe indigenous peoples generally. The general subject headings are as follows:
These can be further subdivided geographically by adding a US state, Canadian province, or other country or regional name.
When browsing the book shelves for works about indigenous peoples and First Nations of North America, you may find the most books in the following call numbers ranges:
Indians of North America History: E 75-99 (3rd Floor)
Law of the United States and Indians: KF 8201-8228 (FSU Law Library)
North American Indian Languages: PM 101-2711 (5th floor)
Cambridge Guide to African American History by 
Be sure to consult the dedicated guide to the Civil Rights Movement for additional resources.
Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans. The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable. Contains over 36,000 imprints and more than 2.5 million images.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801–1819 provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century. It is based on the noted “American Bibliography, 1801–1819” by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. With more than four million pages from over 36,000 items—including 1,000 catalogued new items unavailable in previous microform editions—this digital edition from Readex is an essential complement to Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639–1800, the definitive resource for researching 17th- and 18th-century America.
Note: Access only allows 2 simultaneous users. Electronic Enlightenment reconstructs the extraordinary and vital web of correspondence that made the long 18th century the birth place of the modern world. EE's unique collection of primary documents, based on scholarly critical editions, gives you a new, richer vision of the early modern world. Like no other resource, EE presents the Enlightenment in context.
For additional materials, see Published colonial records of the American colonies, STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 9392. Guide to this set: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials E187 .R4 1995
© 2022 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706