Welcome to the Florida State University Libraries Public Health guide. Use the tabs at the top to find sources and information to help you research public health topics. You might also find the related guides links helpful. Please contact me if you need assistance or more information.
- American Health Care Association
A non-profit federation of state health organizations, representing more than 10,000 nursing home, assisted living, developmentally-disabled, and subacute care providers.
- American Health Quality Association
This association represents Quality Improvement Organizations (QIOs) and professionals working to improve the quality of health care in communities across America.
- American Public Health Association
- Association of Schools of Public Health
- County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
"A collaboration between the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute."
- Florida Public Health Association
- National Coalition on Health Care
Founded in 1990, the Coalition is non-profit and non-partisan and made up of over 70 organizations, employing or representing about 150 million Americans. Members share the belief that we need and can achieve better, more affordable health care for all Americans.
- National Network of Public Health Institutes
Enhance the capacity of the nation's public health
institutes and promotes multi-sector activities that result in measurable improvements of public health structures, systems and outcomes.
- Trust for America's Health
Contains many valuable resources, including state data.
- Ebsco Influenza Evidence-Based Information Portal
Due to the H1N1 flu and concerns about the 2009/2010 flu season, the EBSCO Publishing Medical and Nursing editors of DynaMed™, Nursing Reference Center™ (NRC) and Patient Education Reference Center™ (PERC) have made key influenza information from these resources freely available to health care providers worldwide.
- Health and Safety Science Abstracts
- Health & Wellness Resource Center (with Alternative Health Module)
- Heatlh Reference Center Academic
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources in InfoTrac's award-winning Health Reference Center. All in a single, easy-to-use database, The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Covers all areas of medicine, including clinical medicine, experimental medicine, dentistry, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and much more from 1989-
- American Public Health Association (APHA)
- Center for Studying Health System Change
"The mission of the Center for Studying Health System Change (HSC) is to inform policy makers and private decision makers about how local and national changes in the financing and delivery of health care affect people. HSC strives to provide high-quality, timely and objective research and analysis that leads to sound policy decisions, with the ultimate goal of improving the health of the American public." The site also has publications, data and more.
- Federal Health Information Centers and Clearinghouses
The Federal Government operates many health clearinghouses and information centers that focus on specific topics. Their services include distributing publications, providing referrals, and answering inquiries. Many offer Web sites or toll-free numbers.
- Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation
A non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., with a growing role in global health.
- State Health Access Data Assistance Center (shadac)
"The University of Minnesota's State Health Access Data Assistance Center (SHADAC) is funded by The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation to help states monitor rates of health insurance coverage, understand factors associated with access to care and to utilize data for implementation of health reform. "