This is the "Home" page of the "Reference Tools and Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This guide will help you use the Reference material in the library and find links to general directories and sources not covered in other guides.
Last Updated: Jul 17, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.fsu.edu/reference Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

Welcome to the Florida State University Libraries guide to help you use Reference resources and locate quick information on a variety on subjects.  Use the tabs across the top of the page to find Reference sources and information available from FSU Libraries and on the Internet.

Interesting Websites

  • Cover Browser
    "Created in 2006, Cover Browser displays galleries of comic book (and book, pulp, games, DVD or magazine) covers."
  • Vintage Ad Browser
    "Vintage Ad Browser was created in 2009/2010 and released in 2010, by Philipp Lenssen from Germany, currently living in China. This site aims to collect vintage ads from a variety of sources, including comic books, CD-Roms, websites, APIs, your submissions, book, magazine & comic book scans, and more."
 

Reference Collection

The print Reference Collection in Strozier Library is located in compact shelving on the ground floor. For the most part, this collection is for library use only. It contains specialized and general dictionaries, encyclopedias, guides, handbooks, bibliographies and other material that is usually used to consult to find specific information or to provide subject specific background information. It covers material in the humanities, including religion, philosophy, language, literature, art, and history, and the social sciences including psychology, sociology, political science, social work, economics, geography and education materials.The collection is shelved in the Library of Congress classification call number scheme, which is also used for the general collection. A guide to this classification scheme is available on the Library of Congress website. All material in this collection is in our online catalog. You can search for material from this collection by using the advanced search screen and Strozier, Reference as a location.

Martindale's "The Reference Desk"
Quick online site for Reference Topics

LibrarySpot
Online site for quick information.

RefDesk.com
Quick online site for Reference Topics

Library of Congress Virtual Reference Shelf

Key Library Databases

Research Librarian

Profile Image
Marcia Gorin
Contact Info
Scholars Commons
Strozier Library
850-645-2708
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip