Recreation and leisure studies prepare students to provide
and promote leisure opportunities for all citizens through the
management of programs, land and facilities in various community
This research guide is intended for both undergraduate and
graduate students studying recreation and leisure. It focuses on
general reference books, journals, and online resources available at
the FSU Libraries.
It also includes relevant Library of Congress classifications and
subject headings to help researchers locate additional materials.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Provides full text for more than 415 sports and sports medicine journals.
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. There is full text for more than 200 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.
- SBRNet: Sports Business Research
SBRNet: Sports Business Research database focuses on market research and industry news covering all facets of the industry…sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing.
- Physical Education Index
Description: Subject index to domestic and foreign periodicals that are published in English. Coverage includes dance, health, physical education, physical therapy, recreation, sports, sports medicine, physical fitness, rehabilitation, and sport psychology. Coverage is from 1970 to the present.
Educational information system sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education. Includes two indexes:
1. Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE)
2. Resources in Education (RIE)
Indexes unpublished documents, books, conference papers, research reports, grant proposals, and hard-to-locate research. Documents available online or on microfiche: STROZIER Documents Mif ED1.310: index.
An archive of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.
(1988 - present)
Provides full text access to articles from journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
- Social Sciences Citation Index
(1956 - present)
A multidisciplinary index, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines.
- Sociological Abstracts
(1963 - present)
Sociology-related topics such as: abuse and neglect, aging, anthropology, criminology, crisis intervention, demography, education, ethnic studies, law and penology, social psychology, urban studies, violence, and women's studies.
- Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection
current and relevant content from over 500 industry journals, this collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry - including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities, economic aspects of tourism, and more.
0027G Strozier Library
Scholars Commons - Basement
SC Office Hours: By Appointment; available most Tu 6-9 (email for availability)
Areas of Responsibility:
College of Business