Skip to main content

Streaming Media in Your Course: Find Streaming Content @ FSU Libraries

Search OneSearch for Videos

Use FSU Libraries' OneSearch to find streaming videos in the Films on Demand database. OneSearch can also find physical media items in the Library such as DVDs. While OneSearch indexes much of the library’s video content, some content is only discoverable through searching a database directly. To access materials licensed in Kanopy, Swank, or Academic Video Online, you’ll need to search those databases individually.  Visit the lib.fsu.edu for a comprehensive list of all streaming video services and continue reading for more information on how to use and request content from these databases.

1. From the FSU Libraries homepage, you can search OneSearch for video content from the tabbed search box using the Books & More or Advanced Search options.

2. Limit your source type to Videos.

3. You can then access the videos through the Off-campus access link.

Find Streaming Video Databases

FSU Libraries offers several streaming video databases that can be utilized for engaging course content.‚Äč Note: Due to the high-cost and temporary nature of individual streaming licenses, FSU Libraries can only accept streaming requests from instructors administering courses where such films will be used for student instruction. Requests from students or faculty for individual research or viewing cannot be granted.


For individual requests in Kanopy, we recommend Leon County Public Library, which offers access to 4 Kanopy titles per month to current Library Card holders. You can read more about this service here. For information about how to sign up for a Leon County Library Card, go here.

 

Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection

Films On Demand is a Web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group. Choose from thousands of high-quality educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Special features allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection through a robust administrative reporting system.

 

Swank

Swank Digital Campus’ online streaming service provides access to feature films, documentaries, foreign films and TV shows suitable for any academic department, including history, literature, social sciences, health science and more. They have exclusive rights to many of Hollywood’s biggest studios, including Paramount, Universal, Sony, Lionsgate, and Warner Bros.  Faculty may request titles using the online Course Reserves Request form. Licensed titles are available for one (1) calendar year and may be viewed by any FSU user during this time.

The Swank interface provides some useful information and tools for sharing content with your students.  The date circled in red in the image below indicates the date through which FSU users will have access to the title (it is possible to renew the license simply by making a new reserves request). The buttons circled in blue will provide you with direct links you can share with your students and embed codes that will embed the viewer in your Canvas course page.

 

Kanopy Streaming Video

Kanopy includes documentaries, indie and foreign films, must-see classics and blockbuster movies.  Faculty may request titles using the Kanopy request form (via the Kanopy website--pictured below--you will encounter this form when you attempt to watch a title for which the Library does not own a license) or by contacting their Subject Librarian (this is the more direct request method). Depending on the title, licenses can range from 1-3 calendar years and may be viewed by any FSU user during this time. The best way to request films through Kanopy is to contact your Subject Librarian.

 

Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press)

Academic Video Online includes scholarly video material of virtually every video type: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, field recordings, commercials, demonstrations, original and raw footage including tens of thousands of exclusive tiles. There are thousands of award-winning films,  Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners along with the most frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.

 

You can find a comprehensive list of all our databases containing streaming video here

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706