Plays Online
This is the "Home" page of the "*Theatre" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Sep 6, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.fsu.edu/theater Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

Welcome to the FSU Libraries' guide to Theatre research and resources. Use the tabs at the top to navigate through the resources. Enjoy!

Alphonse Mucha, Gismonda, Theatre de la Renaissance, 1894. (Source: NYPL Digital Gallery)

Questions? Comments? Suggestions? Please contact me!

 

 

Call Numbers

Use the Library of Congress Classification Outline to browse for serendipitous discovery of books in your subject area. Here are the call number ranges for theatre:

  • GT 500 – 2370 Costume. Dress. Fashion
  • GV 1580 -1799.3 Dancing
  • M Music
  • ML Literature of Music
  • MT Musical Instruction and Study
  • NA 278.T5-6845 Fine Arts. Theaters. Architecture.
  • PN 1530 The monologue
  • PN 1551 The dialogue
  • PN 1560-1590 The performing arts. Show business
  • PN 1585-1589 Centers for the performing arts
  • PN 1600-3307 Drama
  • PN 1660-1693 Technique of dramatic composition
  • PN 1720-1861 History
  • PN 1865-1988 Special types
  • PN 1997-1997.85 Plays, scenarios, etc.
  • PN 2000-3307 Dramatic representation. The theater
  • PN 2061-2071 Art of acting
  • PN 2085-2091 The stage and accessories
  • PN 2131-2193 By period
  • PN 2131-2145 Ancient
  • PN 2152-2160 Medieval
  • PN 2171-2179 Renaissance
  • PN 2181-2193 Modern
  • PN 2219.3-3030 Special regions or countries
  • PN 3035 Jewish theater
  • PN 3151-3171 Amateur theater
  • PN 3175-3191 College and school theatricals
  • PN 3203-3299 Tableaux, pageants, "Happenings," etc.
  • PN 6110.5-6120 Drama collections
  • PQ 500-591 French Literature. Drama
  • PQ 1211-1241 French Literature. Drama collections.
  • PQ 4133-4160 Italian Literature. Drama
  • PQ 4227-4245 Italian Literature. Drama collections
  • PQ 6098.7-6129 Spanish Literature. Drama
  • PQ 6217-(6241) Spanish Literature. Drama collections.
  • PR 621-744 English Literature. Drama
  • PR 641-744 English Literature. Drama. By period
  • PR 1241-1273 Collections of English Literature. Drama
  • PS 330-353 American Literature. Drama
  • PS 623-(635) Collections of American Literature. Drama
  • PT 605-709 German Literature. Drama
  • PT 1251-1299 German Literature. Drama collections.
  • TK4399.T6, TK7881.9 Technology in the Theater.

Key Resources

  • Theatre in Video
    Theatre in Video contains performances of plays, together with film documentaries, available online in streaming video. Selections cover hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors.
  • On the Boards
    On the Boards is a center for contemporary performance located in Seattle, WA. Launched in January 2010, OntheBoards.tv is an website for HD-quality contemporary performance films available for stream viewing via our university subscription. Filmed at On the Boards, as well as peer theaters across the country, the performances present a snapshot of the new works by current leaders in dance, theater and music.
  • North American Theatre Online
    Alexander Street Drama is a package that includes reference materials in North American Theatre Online along with all the content in the following full text play collections. Everything is cross searchable through the unified North American Theatre Online interface. Includes Black Drama, Twentieth Century North American Drama, Asian American Drama, and North American Women's Drama in cross search.
  • The concise Oxford companion to the theatre
    This concise version of the Oxford Companion to the Theatre covers all aspects of theatre worldwide and throughout the ages. It contains entries on a vast range of theatrical styles, dramatists, performers, and directors, as well as information on theatres, festivals, and such technical topics as lighting, sound, and method acting. NOTE: THIS RESOURCE HAS A LIMITED NUMBER OF SEATS. If you cannot get in, try again later or consult the print version in Strozier Reference PN2035.C63 1992.
  • Oxford encyclopedia of theatre and performance
    This encyclopedia provides authoritative and up-to-date information about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe. In addition to performances in playhouses, it covers dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performance.
  • International Index to Performing Arts
    A performing arts journal resource with over half a million indexed articles, plus detailed abstracts and full text from 1864 to the present, covering theatre, dance and film.
  • International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
    This database contains more than 530 full-text titles, including more than 170 full-text journals and over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.
  • MLA Bibliography
    Multilingual index to books and journals in the fields of literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from 1926-present.
  • British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture in Nineteenth Century Collections Online
    British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the long nineteenth century, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores.

Subject Headings

Here are a few subject headings you can use to search the catalog for books and journals about theatre. Names of specific theaters, theater companies, and people also have their own subject headings.

  • acting
  • actors
  • actresses
  • African Americans -- Drama
  • American drama
  • auditions
  • authors and the theater
  • black theater
  • comedy
  • commedia dell'arte
  • community theater
  • costume
  • costume design
  • drama
  • drama technique
  • dramatic criticism
  • dramatists
  • English drama
  • experimental drama
  • experimental theater
  • feminism and theater
  • folk drama
  • gay theater
  • historical drama
  • improvisation
  • little theater movement
  • method acting
  • monologues
  • motion pictures and theater
  • movement (acting)
  • musical theater
  • one-act plays
  • performing arts
  • playwriting
  • religion and drama
  • set designers
  • stage adaptations
  • stage directions
  • stage lighting
  • street theater   
  • summer theater
  • theater and society
  • theater audiences
  • theater casting
  • theater critics
  • theater history
  • theater management
  • theater production and direction
  • theater, open-air
  • theaters
  • theatrical makeup
  • tragedy
  • vaudeville
  • workers' theater

 

      

    Visual & Performing Arts Librarian

    Profile Image
    Jessica Evans Brady
    Contact Info
    Visual & Performing Arts Librarian
    Scholars Commons
    Strozier Library
    850-645-2709
    jevansbrady@fsu.edu
    Send Email
    Office Hours:
    Wednesdays 1:30-3:30pm, William Johnston Building (Library)
    Education:
    MA, MS(LIS)
     

    Ask us Now

    Need one-on-one help?

    • Reseach Consultation Request Form
      Need help finding resources or using the FSU catalog, databases, or the web? Request a Research consultation with a librarian. We would appreciate 48 hours notice for scheduling your appointment. If you need assistance before 48 hours, please stop by the reference desk or use Ask-Us-Now live chat.
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip