Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
DPLA can be searched by time or place, browsed through a virtual bookshelf or by curated exhibits, and also is a platform to be built upon through apps and widgets.
What is the DPLA?
The Digital Public Library of America is a free, online library that provides access to millions of books, photographs, maps and audiovisual materials and more from libraries, museums and archives across the United States. The video below offers a brief introduction.
Where does the content come from?
The DPLA is "fed" by hubs - state and regional digital libraries, as well as large digital libraries around the U.S. Some of the content hubs are below, with all of the current partners listed here.
ARTstor's collaboration with DPLA includes images from six major American museums: the Dallas Museum of Art, the Indianapolis Museum of Art, the National Gallery of Art (paintings from the Samuel H. Kress Collection), the Walters Art Museum, the Yale Center for British Art, and the Yale University Art Gallery.
Digital Library of Georgia
Based at the University of Georgia, this DPLA hub collaborates with Georgia’s Libraries, archives, museums, and other institutions of education and culture to provide access to digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other resources about the history and culture of the state.
Empire State Digital Network
This newly formed Network will provide the means for hundreds of libraries, archives, museums, and cultural organizations across the state to contribute digital resources to the Digital Public Library of America. The first phase will include New York Heritage, Hudson River Valley Heritage, digitalMETRO, Long Island Memories, and select pilot collections from our respective memberships.
Of HathiTrust’s nearly 11 million volumes, the metadata records associated with the almost 3.5 million that are freely available will be accessible through DPLA, and through the DPLA application programming interface (API).
Mountain West Digital Library
A regional digital collaboration in Utah, Nevada, southern Idaho, and Arizona, the Mountain West Digital Library includes: research libraries, public libraries, school libraries, museums, historical societies, municipalities, counties, state agencies, and other memory institutions throughout the Mountain West region.
As a Content Hub within the DPLA network, the Smithsonian will provide links to the Smithsonian’s digital collection of books, journals, museum objects, manuscripts and videos.