Skip to Main Content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Added: May 5
Bloomsbury Popular Music provides unrivalled scholarly coverage of modern popular music worldwide, covering the mid-20th century to the present day music. Supports courses in ethnomusicology, the performing arts, media and communication, cultural studies, anthropology and sociology. Bloomsbury Sound Studies is the first digital resource to provide wide-ranging, cross-cultural, and interdisciplinary scholarly content in the study of sound. Subject areas covered include art, aesthetics, architecture, contemporary music, history, philosophy, technology, and cultural studies and the growing literature of sonic and auditory theory, methodology, and practice.
New
Added: May 17
Business Abstracts with Full Text contains full-text articles from key publications and provides product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports. The database covers a full range of business-related topics including finance, management, international business, human resources and marketing.
New
Added: Apr 14
The Columbia Granger’s World of Poetry contains full text poems, history, criticism, and biographies. The poems in full text are the most widely-read in the English language, as well as in Spanish, French, German, and Italian. Included also is poetry in Portuguese, Polish, Yiddish, Welsh, Gaelic, and other Celtic languages, as well as poems in the ancient languages: Anglo-Saxon, Provencal and Latin. Scholars in each of these languages have reviewed and guided the selection of poems, so that the poetry on Granger’s is also the poetry encountered in the classroom.
New
Added: Mar 29
EThOS is a service provided by The British Library offering freely available access to doctoral theses awarded by UK Higher Education institutions. Approximately half of the records in EThOS provide access to the full text thesis.
New
Added: Feb 17
The Florida Digital Newspaper Library (FDNL) exists to provide access to the news and history of Florida Newspapers are a state treasure, the historian's and genealogist's best friend, and the community's collective memory. In the world of newspapers, today's news is already history, from the moment the stories are printed.

FDNL is moving to a new platform. See the beta website for the new platform.
New
Added: Apr 22
History Vault: Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War: includes access to primary source, cross-searchable, full-text/full-image documents from the following collections:

Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War: From heart-wrenching personal letters to bills of lading for office supplies, this module offers remarkable insight into the early Reconstruction period in the American South.

Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in the 19th Century, 1636-1880: This module documents the international and domestic traffic in slaves in Britain’s New World colonies and the United States, providing important primary source material on the business aspect of the slave trade.

Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records: The Plantation Records in this module documents the far-reaching impact of plantations on both the American South and the nation.
New
Added: Apr 15
LAPOP, a survey research lab at Vanderbilt University, carries out surveys of public opinion in the Americas. LAPOP carries out targeted national surveys, conducts impact evaluation studies, and produces reports on individual attitudes, evaluations, and experiences. The AmericasBarometer survey covers 34 nations including all of North, Central, and South America, as well as a significant number of countries in the Caribbean.
Note: This subscription expires on April 13, 2023.
New
Added: Jan 10
MedlinePlus is an online health information resource for patients and their families and friends. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library, and a part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Trial
Trial ends: June 1, 2022
Let us know what you think about "Newspaper Archives (Trial)" Should we purchase it?
Newspaper Archives contains thousands of titles, from every US state and twenty-eight other countries around the world. Coverage is from 1607-present.
New
Added: Apr 22
North American Indian Thought and Culture integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. The accounts offer a direct window into Indian attitudes toward the earliest European settlers and the resultant transformations that took place, first as trade was established and later as displacement forced tribes into unfamiliar territories. The collection presents the entire spectrum of native peoples’ experiences from their own point of view.
New
Added: May 9
Nursing and Mental Health in Video features over 240 videos of the most common mental health disorders nurses may encounter—whether in a primary care setting, emergency room, medical, psychiatric or other.
New
Added: Apr 1
From the emergence of book culture in Northern Europe to vibrant 21st century Indian fiction, from female writers in Latin America to queer literature and film theory, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Literature aims to map, over time, the world’s entire landscape of literary expressions and criticism, weaving together the various fields and approaches that make up literature in its broadest sense.
New
Added: Mar 7
Spatial Hazard Events and Losses Database for the United States (SHELDUS) is a county-level hazard data set for the U.S. and covers natural hazards such thunderstorms, hurricanes, floods, wildfires, and tornados as well as perils such as flash floods, heavy rainfall, etc. The database contains information on the date of an event, affected location (county and state) and the direct losses caused by the event (property and crop losses, injuries, and fatalities) from 1960 to present.

New users must register for a SHELDUS account with an @fsu.edu or @business.fsu.edu email address. FSU has access to the SHELDUS database and aggregated data sets. Select from the Aggregate By Geography, Aggregate By Time Span, or Aggregate By Hazard drop-down menus before running your query.
New
Added: Mar 23
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae is the full text database edition of the authoritative print Latin dictionary of the same name. Every Latin word includes a comprehensive, richly documented picture of its possibilities and history—not only for Latin scholars, but also for scholars of the various branches of ancient studies and for related disciplines.
Loading...
Loading...

Need Help?

title
Loading...
The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706