Skip to Main Content

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
Trial ends: August 14, 2022
Let us know what you think about "Alternative Press Index (Trial)" Should we purchase it? Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper and magazine articles from hundreds of international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Covering 1991 to the present, it provides access to emerging theories and practices of social change.
Trial
Trial ends: August 14, 2022
Let us know what you think about "Alternative Press Index Archive (Trial)" Should we purchase it? This archive companion to the Alternative Press Index is a guide to articles from alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage spans 1969 through 1990.
New
Added: May 5
Bloomsbury Popular Music provides unrivalled scholarly coverage of modern popular music worldwide, covering the mid-20th century to the present day music. Supports courses in ethnomusicology, the performing arts, media and communication, cultural studies, anthropology and sociology. Bloomsbury Sound Studies is the first digital resource to provide wide-ranging, cross-cultural, and interdisciplinary scholarly content in the study of sound. Subject areas covered include art, aesthetics, architecture, contemporary music, history, philosophy, technology, and cultural studies and the growing literature of sonic and auditory theory, methodology, and practice.
New
Added: Jun 13
This resource offers facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the seventeenth century through to the twentieth century. The titles were selected by Professor Daniel Fader of the University of Michigan on the basis of their importance and difficulty of access in American libraries, and issues were sourced from over 100 libraries worldwide. FSU has access to collections one through four.
New
Added: May 17
Business Abstracts with Full Text contains full-text articles from key publications and provides product evaluations, interviews, biographical sketches, corporate profiles, obituaries, surveys, statistical rankings, book reviews and reports. The database covers a full range of business-related topics including finance, management, international business, human resources and marketing.
New
Added: Apr 14
The Columbia Granger’s World of Poetry contains full text poems, history, criticism, and biographies. The poems in full text are the most widely-read in the English language, as well as in Spanish, French, German, and Italian. Included also is poetry in Portuguese, Polish, Yiddish, Welsh, Gaelic, and other Celtic languages, as well as poems in the ancient languages: Anglo-Saxon, Provencal and Latin. Scholars in each of these languages have reviewed and guided the selection of poems, so that the poetry on Granger’s is also the poetry encountered in the classroom.
New
Added: Jun 3
Fannie Lou Hamer was an voting rights activist and civil rights leader. She was instrumental in organizing Mississippi Freedom Summer for the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC), and later became the Vice-Chair of the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party, attending the 1964 Democratic National Convention in Atlantic City, New Jersey, in that capacity. Her plain-spoken manner and fervent belief in the Biblical righteousness of her cause gained her a reputation as an electrifying speaker and constant activist of civil rights.
New
Added: Apr 22
History Vault: Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War: includes access to primary source, cross-searchable, full-text/full-image documents from the following collections:

Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War: From heart-wrenching personal letters to bills of lading for office supplies, this module offers remarkable insight into the early Reconstruction period in the American South.

Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in the 19th Century, 1636-1880: This module documents the international and domestic traffic in slaves in Britain’s New World colonies and the United States, providing important primary source material on the business aspect of the slave trade.

Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records: The Plantation Records in this module documents the far-reaching impact of plantations on both the American South and the nation.
New
Added: Jun 3
This collection comprehensively covers the history of North American indigenous peoples and supporting organizations, enabling intelligent inquiry into the culture and heritage of more than seventy tribes within the United States and Canada.

FSU has access to part 1.
New
Added: Apr 15
LAPOP, a survey research lab at Vanderbilt University, carries out surveys of public opinion in the Americas. LAPOP carries out targeted national surveys, conducts impact evaluation studies, and produces reports on individual attitudes, evaluations, and experiences. The AmericasBarometer survey covers 34 nations including all of North, Central, and South America, as well as a significant number of countries in the Caribbean.
Note: This subscription expires on April 13, 2023.
New
Added: Jun 3
This collection comprises two sets of documents that helped the response to 40 years of failed Native American policies. The first is the full text of the report entitled The Problem of Indian Administration, better known as the Meriam Report. The second comprises the 41-part report to the U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs detailing the conditions of life and the effects of policies and programs enacted by the Bureau of Indian Affairs on Native Americans. Both of these collections provide unique documentary insights into many major tribes: Sioux, Navaho, Quapaw, Chickasaw, Apache, Pueblo, Ute, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Arapaho, Kickapoo, Klamath, and many others.
New
Added: Apr 22
North American Indian Thought and Culture integrates autobiographies, biographies, Indian publications, oral histories, personal writings, photographs, drawings, and audio files. The accounts offer a direct window into Indian attitudes toward the earliest European settlers and the resultant transformations that took place, first as trade was established and later as displacement forced tribes into unfamiliar territories. The collection presents the entire spectrum of native peoples’ experiences from their own point of view.
New
Added: May 9
Nursing and Mental Health in Video features over 240 videos of the most common mental health disorders nurses may encounter—whether in a primary care setting, emergency room, medical, psychiatric or other.
New
Added: Apr 1
From the emergence of book culture in Northern Europe to vibrant 21st century Indian fiction, from female writers in Latin America to queer literature and film theory, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Literature aims to map, over time, the world’s entire landscape of literary expressions and criticism, weaving together the various fields and approaches that make up literature in its broadest sense.
New
Added: Jun 3
This collection of Amiri Baraka materials was made available by Dr. Komozi Woodard. Dr. Woodard collected these documents during his career as an activist in Newark, New Jersey.The collection consists of rare works of poetry, organizational records, print publications, over one hundred articles, poems, plays, and speeches by Baraka, a small amount of personal correspondence, and oral histories. The collection has been arranged into eighteen series. These series are: (1) Black Arts Movement; (2) Black Nationalism; (3) Correspondence; (4) Newark (New Jersey); (5) Congress of African People; (6) National Black Conferences and National Black Assembly; (7) Black Women's United Front; (8) Student Organization for Black Unity; (9) African Liberation Support Committee; (10) Revolutionary Communist League; (11) African Socialism; (12) Black Marxists; (13) National Black United Front; (14) Miscellaneous Materials, 1978-1988; (15) Serial Publications; (16) Oral Histories; (17) Woodard's Office Files.
New
Added: Jun 3
The Ralph J. Bunche Oral History Collection from the Moorland-Spingarn Research Center is a unique resource for the study of the era of the American civil rights movement. Included here are transcriptions of close to 700 interviews with those who made history in the struggles for voting rights, against discrimination in housing, for the desegregation of the schools, to expose racism in hiring, in defiance of police brutality, and to address poverty in the African American communities.
New
Added: Jun 3
This collection on law and order documents the efforts of district attorneys from southern states to uphold federal laws in the states that fought in the Confederacy or were Border States. This publication includes their correspondence with the attorney general as well all other letters received by the attorney general from the states in question during that period, including the correspondence of marshals, judges, convicts, and concerned or aggrieved citizens.
New
Added: Jun 22
Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online is an annual publication collecting newly published Greek inscriptions and studies on previously known documents. It covers the entire Greek world from the early Greek texts up to the 8th century A.D.

Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum Online presents complete Greek texts, and a critical apparatus, of new inscriptions; it summarizes new readings, interpretations, and studies of known inscriptions, and occasionally presents the Greek text of these documents.
New
Added: Jun 3
This collection consists of the letters received by and letters sent to the War Department, including correspondence from Indian superintendents and agents, factors of trading posts, Territorial and State governors, military commanders, Indians, missionaries, treaty and other commissioners, Treasury Department officials, and persons having commercial dealings with the War Department, and other public and private individuals. In addition, attachments include vouchers, receipts, requisitions, abstracts and financial statements, certificates of deposit, depositions, contracts, newspapers, copies of speeches to Indians, proceedings of conferences with Indians in Washington, licenses of traders, passports for travel in the Indian country, appointments, and instructions to commissioners, superintendents, agents, and other officials.
New
Added: Jun 3
This collection brings together a series of Office of Economic Opportunity (OEO) collections that highlight efforts to meld the issue of civil rights and antipoverty initiatives. 1) Alphabetical File of Samuel Yette, 1964-1966: Yette was the Special Assistant to the Director of Civil Rights. Among his records are correspondence, reports, antipoverty program analyses, minutes of meetings, transcripts of testimonies, and other material. 2) Program Files, 1964-1967: These records consist of correspondence, weekly reports on civil rights matters, reports by civil rights coordinators, equal employment opportunity guidelines, and more. 3) Records Relating to the Administration of the Civil Rights Program in the Regions, 1965-1966: These records arranged by region > state > local areas and cities consist of correspondence between regional coordinators, various civil rights groups, labor organizations, members of Congress, and community groups regarding the activities of the OEO.
New
Added: Jun 3
The collection contains correspondence, memoranda, reports, minutes of meetings, convention programs, and other records concerning the activities of Maurice Dawkins, Assistant Director for Civil Rights in the Office of Economic Opportunity. Reports, assessments, and background documents also include: Justice Department Task Force on Civil Rights, 1968; U.S. Commission on Civil Rights Report on Ghettoes, 1967; Poor People's Campaign and OEO, 1968; civil rights and the anti-poverty war; application of Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964; Equal Employment Opportunities and the U.S. Civil Service Commission; OEO reports on Job Corps centers; U.S. Commission on Civil Rights hearings in Montgomery, Ala., for 1968; and 1967 Booz-Allen & Hamilton report on statewide education study in Mississippi.
Loading...
Loading...

Need Help?

title
Loading...
The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706