Race-Ing Art History: critical readings in race and art history by Kymberly N. Pinder (Editor)
Call Number: N 5303 .R27 2002
Publication Date: 2002-08-09
Table of Contents:
"Just like us" : cultural constructions of sexuality and race in Roman art / John R. Clarke -- Imaging the self : ritual and representation in a Yiddish book of customs / Diane Wolfthal -- A sanctified Black : Maurice / Jean Devisse -- The imaginary Orient / Linda Nochlin -- "Only women should go to Turkey" : Henriette Browne and the female orientalist gaze / Reina Lewis -- The Hottentot and the prostitute : toward an iconography of female sexuality / Sander Gilman -- Going native / Abigail Solomon-Godeau -- Racism, nationalism, and nostalgia / J. Gray Sweeney -- Blacks in shark-infested waters : visual encodings of racism in Copley and Homer / Albert Boime -- "Making a man of him" : masculinity and the Black body in mid-nineteenth-century American sculpture / Michael Hatt -- Histories of the tribal and the modern / James Clifford -- The white peril and L'art nègre : Picasso, primitivism, and anticolonialism / Patricia Leighten -- New encounters with Les desmoiselles d'Avignon : gender, race, and the origins of cubism / Anna C. Chave -- Wilfredo Lam : painter of negritude / Robert Linsley -- Sargent Johnson : Afro-California modernist / Judith Wilson -- Horace Pippin's challenge to art criticism / Cornel West -- In search of the "inauthentic" : disturbing signs in contemporary Native American art / Jean Fisher -- Altars of sacrifice : re-membering Basquiat / Bell Hooks -- International abstraction in a national context : abstract painting in Korea, 1910-1965 / Jae-Ryung Roe -- The other immigrant : the experiences and achievements of Afro-Asian artists in the metropolis / Rasheed Araeen -- Reframing the Black subject : ideology and fantasy in contemporary South African representation / Okwui Enwezor -- Biraciality and nationhood in contemporary American art / Kymberly N. Pinder.
Designing for Empathy by Elif M. Gokcigdem (Editor)
Call Number: AM111 .D47 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-07
As museums are currently shaping their tools for fostering empathy as an intentional outcome of museum experiences, the idea of empathy-building is reshaping them as socially relevant institutions that increasingly value diversity, accessibility, and equality. This is a non-linear, multi-layered, and multi-dimensional transformation that requires multidisciplinary, cross-industry, and cross-sector alliances for its sustainability. The potential of this collective transformation effort includes the invention of unconventional, evidence-based, and sustainable solutions that can be scaled up beyond the walls of traditional museums to all kinds of informal learning platforms to help eliminate the empathy-deficit in our world. Designing for Empathy expands our understanding of empathy and its potential for fostering compassionate worldviews and actions through a multidisciplinary exploration in three parts: "The Object of Our Empathy" explores how we define and perceive the "Other;" "The Alchemy of Empathy" introduces thirteen design elements of empathy that might lead to transformative learning experiences; and "The Scope and the Spectrum of Empathy" highlights the importance of positioning empathy as a cross-industrial shared value for the benefit of people and the planet. Designing for Empathy will inspire and empower those who are interested in intentionally designing for empathy to cultivate compassionate worldviews and actions that celebrate and preserve the oneness of all people, the environment, and our planet.
Diversity, Equity, Accessibility, and Inclusion in Museums by Johnnetta Betsch Cole (Editor); Laura L. Lott (Editor)
Call Number: AM11 .D625 2019
Publication Date: 2019-02-01
Diversity, equity, accessibility, and inclusion in all aspects of museums' structure and programming are top issues in the field today - and in the overall arts/culture sector. Much has been written, from various perspectives, over several decades. Yet, a lack of diversity remains and exclusive practices and inequities persist in all types of museums. A go-to resource for readers interested in learning about diversity and inclusion work in the field - past, present and future. This edited collection of the most important essays, speeches, and reports on these topics seeks to facilitate a much-needed intergenerational dialogue that builds on lessons from the past, broadens thinking about the many different facets of this complex work, and ignites inspiration for continuing to correct inequities across museums of all types, sizes, and locations. In this book compiled and edited by Dr. Johnnetta Betch Cole, who has served as both director of the Smithsonian National Museum of African Art and as the president of both historically Black colleges for women in the United States, Spelman College and Bennett College (a distinction she alone holds) and Laura Lott, president and CEO of the American Alliance of Museums, (the first woman to the lead the organization), thought leaders in the museum field present their research, analysis and work to answer some of the most challenge questions facing the museum field. Why do these problems persist? How can a new generation of museum leaders champion change to better represent the communities that museums strive to serve and engage? What can we learn from those who have been observing, experiencing, and writing about these issues?
Caring for American Indian Objects: : a practical and cultural guide by Sherelyn Ogden (Editor)
Call Number: CONS E77 .C28 2004
Publication Date: 2004-08-16
American Indian cultural objects, like most objects, deteriorate over time. Precious and irreplaceable pieces of a people's heritage can turn to dust, either slowly or rapidly, depending upon their composition and the ways in which they are stored and handled. Caring for American Indian Objects: A Practical and Cultural Guide offers invaluable information and advice to anyone who wants to preserve these objects. Twenty-one contributors, fourteen of whom are American Indians, discuss general aspects of museum care, explain techniques for particular materials, and address important cultural considerations. This practical guide, with over 100 color and black-and-white photos, offers Indian and non-Indian caregivers, conservators, and collectors helpful information on standard museum practice to aid them in making decisions to slow deterioration. "An excellent and valuable book that will be useful to students, conservators, and tribal museum staff. It will make a great textbook as well as reference book." -- Dr. Andrew Gulliford, Director, Center of Southwest Studies, Fort Lewis College
The Caring Museum: new models of engagement with ageing by Hamish L. Robertson (Editor)
Call Number: AM 160 .C37 2015
Publication Date: 2015-09-07
"The Caring Museum: New Models of Engagement with Ageing explores - in a practical way - current and developmental issues in the field of museums, galleries and ageing, with a clear emphasis on the emerging and innovative opportunities which ageing populations present. The book explores both the contribution older people are making to the development of museums and the ways in which museums are increasingly contributing to society in an ageing world."--Publisher description.
The Accessible Museum: model programs of accessibility for disabled and older people. by American Alliance of Museums Staff; Dianne Pilgrim
Call Number: AM 160 .A27 1992
Publication Date: 1993-01-01
Model programs in 19 American museums offer insights as to how institutions are dealing successfully with issues of accessibility, making adjustments to policy, programs, and facilities in order to reach out to people with disabilities and older adults. This richly illustrated book with its extensive bibliography is an important resource for all museums following the landmark legislation of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA).
What Museum Guides Need to Know: access for blind and visually impaired visitors by Gerda Groff; Laura Gardner
Call Number: AM 160 .G76 1989
Publication Date: 1989-02-01
This book provides practical, easy-to-use suggestions on how to greet and assist blind and visually impaired visitors. It also covers aesthetics and visual impairment, legal requirements for accessibility, and resources. It includes a training outline for museum professionals, a bibliography on art and museum access for blind and visually impaired persons, and guidelines for preparing large print, braille, and cassette materials.
Programming for People with Special Needs:a guide for museums and historic sites by Katie Stringer
Call Number: AM 160 .S77 2014
Publication Date: 2014-07-10
Programming for People with Special Needs: A Guide for Museums and Historic Sites will help museums and historic sites become truly inclusive educational experiences. The book is unique because it covers education and inclusion for those with both intellectual and learning disabilities. The book features the seven key components of creating effective programming for people with special needs, especially elementary and secondary students with intellectual disabilities: -Sensitivity and awareness training -Planning and communication -Timing -Engagement and social/life skills -Object-centered and inquiry-based programs -Structure -Flexibility In addition, this book features and discusses programs such as the Museum of Modern Art's Meet Me program and ones for children with autism at the Transit Museum in Brooklyn as models for other organizations to adapt for their use. Its focus on visitors of all ages who have cognitive or intellectual disabilities or special needs makes this title essential for all museum and historic site professionals, especially educators or administrators, but also for museum studies students and those interested in informal education.
Multisensory Museum:cross-disciplinary perspectives on touch, sound, smell, memory, and space by Nina Levent (Editor); Álvaro Pascual-Leone (Editor)
Call Number: AM160 .M85 2014
Publication Date: 2014-03-06
Recent research in the cognitive sciences gives us a new perspective on the cognitive and sensory landscape. In The Multisensory Museum: Cross-Disciplinary Perspectives on Touch, Sound, Smell, Memory, and Space, museum expert Nina Levent and Alvaro Pascual-Leone, professor of neurology at Harvard Medical School bring together scholars and museum practitioners from around the world to highlight new trends and untapped opportunities for using such modalities as scent, sound, and touch in museums to offer more immersive experiences and diverse sensory engagement for visually- and otherwise-impaired patrons. Visitor studies describe how different personal and group identities color our cultural consumption and might serve as a compass on museum journeys. Psychologists and educators look at the creation of memories through different types of sensory engagement with objects, and how these memories in turn affect our next cultural experience. An anthropological perspective on the history of our multisensory engagement with ritual and art objects, especially in cultures that did not privilege sight over other senses, allows us a glimpse of what museums might become in the future. Education researchers discover museums as unique educational playgrounds that allow for a variety of learning styles, active and passive exploration, and participatory learning. Designers and architects suggest a framework for thinking about design solutions for a museum environment that invites an intuitive, multisensory and flexible exploration, as well as minimizes physical hurdles. While attention has been paid to accessibility for the physically-impaired since passage of the Americans with Disabilities Act, making buildings accessible is only the first small step in elevating museums to be centers of learning and culture for all members of their communities. This landmark book will help all museums go much further.
Museums, Equality and Social Justice by Richard Sandell (Editor); Eithne Nightingale (Editor)
Call Number: AM 7 .M8835 2012
Publication Date: 2013-05-20
The last two decades have seen concerns for equality, diversity, social justice and human rights move from the margins of museum thinking and practice, to the core. The arguments - both moral and pragmatic - for engaging diverse audiences, creating the conditions for more equitable access to museum resources, and opening up opportunities for participation, now enjoy considerable consensus in many parts of the world. A growing number of institutions are concerned to construct new narratives that represent a plurality of lived experiences, histories and identities which aim to nurture support for more progressive, ethically-informed ways of seeing and to actively inform contemporary public debates on often contested rights-related issues. At the same time it would be misleading to suggest an even and uncontested transition from the museum as an organisation that has been widely understood to marginalise, exclude and oppress to one which is wholly inclusive. Moreover, there are signs that momentum towards making museums more inclusive and equitable is slowing down or, in some contexts, reversing. Museums, Equality and Social Justice aims to reflect on and, crucially, to inform debates in museum research, policy and practice at this critical time. It brings together new research from academics and practitioners and insights from artists, activists, and commentators to explore the ways in which museums, galleries and heritage organisations are engaging with the fast-changing equalities terrain and the shifting politics of identity at global, national and local levels and to investigate their potential to contribute to more equitable, fair and just societies.
A Practical Guide to Museum Ethics by Sally Yerkovich
Call Number: AM7 .Y37 2016
Publication Date: 2016-03-18
Are your collections up for grabs? Does the spouse of one of your trustees have too much to say about developing the exhibition schedule? How much is too much public participation? Where does a curator's authority begin and end? With money increasingly difficult to raise, is a museum more likely to accede to potential funders' demands even when those demands might compromise the museum's integrity? When a museum is struggling with debilitating debt, should the sale of selected items from its collections and the use of the resulting proceeds bring the museum into a more stable financial position? When a museum attempts to build its attendance and attract local visitors by crowdsourcing exhibitions, is it undermining its integrity? Ethical questions about museum activities are legion, yet they are usually only discussed when they become headlines in newspapers. Museum staff respond to such problems under pressure, often unable to take the time required to think through the sensitive and complex issues involved. Grounded in a series of case studies, A Practical Guide to Museum Ethics confronts types of ethical dilemmas museums face and explores attempts to resolve them in chapters dealing with -accessibility, disability, and diversity; -collections; -conflict of interest; -governance; -management; -deaccessioning; and -accountability and transparency. Suitable for classroom use as well as a professional reference, here is a comprehensive, practical guide for dealing with ethical issues in museums.
Sight Unseen by Martin A. Berger
Call Number: NX 650 .R34 B47 2005
Publication Date: 2005-11-03
Sight Unseen explores how racial identity guides the interpretation of the visual world. Through a nimble analysis of late nineteenth- and early twentieth-century paintings, photographs, museums, and early motion pictures, Martin A. Berger illustrates how a shared investment in whiteness invisibly guides what Americans of European descent see, what they accept as true, and, ultimately, what legal, social, and economic policies they enact. Carefully reconstructing the racial and philosophical contexts of selected artworks that contain no narrative links to race, the author exposes the effects of racial thinking on our interpretation of the visual world. Bucolic genre paintings of white farmers, pristine landscape photographs of the western frontier, monumental civic architecture, and early action films provide case studies for investigating how European-American sight became inextricably bound to the racial values of American society. Berger shows how artworks are more significant for confirming internalized beliefs on race, than they are for selling us on racial values we do not yet own. A significant contribution to the growing field of whiteness studies, this accessible, provocative, and compelling book exposes how something as apparently natural as sight is conditioned by the racial values of society.
Curatorial Activism by Maura Reilly; Lucy Lippard
Call Number: N72.S6 R44 2018
Publication Date: 2018-04-17
Current art world statistics demonstrate that the fight for gender and race equality in the art world is far from over: only sixteen percent of this year's Venice Biennale artists were female; only fourteen percent of the work displayed at MoMA in 2016 was by nonwhite artists; only a third of artists represented by U.S. galleries are female, but over two-thirds of students enrolled in art and art-history programs are young women.Arranged in thematic sections focusing on feminism, race, and sexuality, Curatorial Activism examines and illustrates pioneering examples of exhibitions that have broken down boundaries and demonstrated that new approaches are possible, from Linda Nochlin's "Women Artists" at LACMA in the mid-1970s to Jean-Hubert Martin's "Carambolages" in 2016 at the Grand Palais in Paris. Profiles key exhibitions by pioneering curators including Okwui Enwezor, Linda Nochlin, Jean-Hubert Martin and Nan Goldin, with a foreword by Lucy Lippard, internationally known art critic, activist and curator, and early champion of feminist art, this volume is both an invaluable source of practical information for those who understand that institutions must be a driving force in this area and a vital source of inspiration for today's expanding new generation of curators.