Research Guides: ENT 4514: Social Entrepreneurship: Databases

FSU Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection
ABI/INFORM Complete has many scholarly and trade journals for entrepreneurship.Use this database to research companies and topics of importance to social entrepreneurship.
Subjects include:
Business
Economic conditions
Corporate strategies
Management theory
Management techniques
Business trends
Competitive landscape and product information
Accounting
Finance

Tutorials:
Introduction to ABI/INFORM Collection (PowerPoint)
Overview of ABI Market Research Sources (PowerPoint)
Tip for Teaching: ABI/INFORM Collection Uncovering SWOT Analyses (03:51 minutes)

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry- Features limited content compared to the Browse Search in ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/INFORM Dateline- Browse Search not included
ABI/INFORM Global- features limited content compared to the Browse Search in ABI/INFORM Complete

Abbreviation: abi-com
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Real Estate, Risk Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is similar to ABI/INFORM Complete but does not have as many academic journals.BSC is the only database with electronic access to Harvard Business Review.
Abbreviation: bscomp
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1886–Current
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Management & Strategy, Marketing, Real Estate, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sport Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Proceedings, Reports
Entrepreneurship (Gale Business)
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship is a comprehensive database that covers all aspects of starting and operating a business, including accounting, finance, human resources, management, marketing, tax, and more. It combines authoritative periodical and reference content to support prospective and current entrepreneurs as well as business students. Experience an easy-to-browse interface mapped to four key stages—plan, fund, start, and manage—to fit your research needs at any point in your business's development.
Abbreviation: sbrc
Vendor: Gale
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Management & Strategy, Marketing, Risk Management
Type: Citation Management, Directories, E-Journal Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Newspapers and Newswires, Streaming Video
GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than one million records, as well as open-access full text for more than fifteen thousand records.
Abbreviation: green
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1898–Current
Subjects: Environmental Sciences, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Statista
Statista is a leading provider of market and consumer data. Statista consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
Abbreviation: stati
Vendor: Statista
Subjects: Business, Communication, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Hospitality, Marketing, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics

Websites

Duke's Center for the Advancement of Social Entrepreneurship (CASE) - Knowledge Center
Provides general resources, income strategies, venture funding information, performance measurement and business planning

Data

Business Formation Statistics (BFS)
From the US Census Bureau, the BFS provide timely and high frequency information on new business applications and formations in the United States.
Anuual Survey of Entrepreneurs
From the US Census Bureau, providing data on economic and demographic characteristics of businesses and their owners.
Urban Institue
Urban Institute is the trusted source for unbiased, authoritative insights that inform consequential choices about the well-being of people and places in the United States.
Kauffman Indicators of Entrepreneurship
Offers in-depth measures, reports, and accompanying interactive data visualizations that present entrepreneurial trends in the United States
Panel Study of Entrepreneurial Dynamics, PSED I & PSED II
The Panel Study of Entrepreneurial Dynamics (PSED) research program is designed to enhance the scientific understanding of how people start businesses.
Kauffman Foundation Overview of Data Resources
The Kauffman Foundation creates data overviews that provide guidance on how to use certain datasets. The data overviews serve several purposes:
1. To serve as data reference guides for academics, other data providers, or anyone interested in new research developments in entrepreneurship.
2. To provide short (up to two pages) overviews of data sets in one place that point to lots of relevant information but are highly curated and edited to ensure brevity and clarity.