Using ABI/INFORM Global to find company articles is easy:
• In the first search bar, type in the company's name. (For a more specific search, change the drop-down menu to show “Company/organization – ORG”)
• Below the search box is the Source Type: results list, select Magazines or Newspapers under the Source Types section
Competitive landscape and product information
Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Factiva has more than 30,000 sources. Newspapers include The Wall Street Journal, The New York Times, Washington Post, The Globe and Mail, The Financial TImes, South China Morning Post, and many local newspapers. Television and Radio Transcripts are available from the BBC, ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox, CNN, NPR, ABC, and more. Newswires covers hundreds of newswires including Dow Jones, Reuters and The Associated Press and other industry, press release and local newswires. FSU’s academic subscription to Factiva doesn't allow access to all the content listed in the Source index. Occasionally you will do a search and receive a message -- "No results. This may be due to content restrictions."
• Click on the SEARCH box at the top of the Factiva page.
• Under Source select "By Type".
• Select Transcripts or Wires.
• Enter search terms in box (use AND in between terms). Select date range.
• Results can be filtered a number of ways: by company, source, language, etc.
There is a 20 concurrent user limit.
Resource URL: http://global.factiva.com/en/sess/login.asp?XSID=S00Zcnl3XNb2dmnNdmnNDMrMTYrMDas5DByWcNGOTNHYdNZUUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUFBQUEA&=cookie=on
Vendor: Dow Jones
Subjects: Business, Communication, Finance
Type: Newspapers and Newswires
Note: This will find articles about the company regardless of how the author refers to the company.
• Under the top search box, click Advanced Search.
• Under the main search box, now click Select a different content type.
• Click News
• Under the Search Terms section, add any keywords, like sales, marketing, or a specific product or brand. If entering a company make sure it’s the correct full company name.
• Use any other advanced search fields and press Search. Select date range.
• Once you have articles on company make sure to use the Negative News feature of Nexis to look at negative news.
Content: Briefs, Pleadings and Motions Cases Company and Financial Directories Law Reviews and Journals Legal News News Statutes and Legislation
Resource URL: http://www.nexisuni.com Abbreviation: nexis Vendor: LexisNexis Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Hospitality, Law, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Sociology Type: Directories, Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires, Proceedings