Research Guides: Social Sciences Data & Statistics Resources: Topic: Crime & Justice

Find more at Bureau of Justice Statistics

Recommended Sources

Databases
Web Resources

Criminal Justice (ProQuest)
The Criminal Justice Database supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, and litigation and crime trends. This is a resource for U.S. and international scholarly journals, and it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, dissertations, crime reports, crime blogs, and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement, and related fields.

Criminal Justice (ProQuest)

Provides cover-to-cover access for 45 criminal justice journals frequently consulted by professionals, and indexes 240 journals, 80 of those journals include full-text articles.

Subject coverage:
Criminology
Corrections administration
Criminal law
Criminal justice
Law enforcement
Addiction
Family law
Industrial security
Rehabilitation

Abbreviation: cjpindex
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1981–Current
Subjects: Criminology and Criminal Justice, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
HeinOnline

HeinOnline provides a searchable format and full-text access to a large and growing collection of legal journals from the time of their inception to a few years before present.

Tutorials:
Training Videos
Training Guides
User Guide (pdf)

Abbreviation: hein
Vendor: HeinOnline
Subjects: Business Legal Studies, History, International Affairs, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Law, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: E-Journal Collections, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

If you receive an error about not being able to access this database because of using a proxy server, please go straight to https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/ then create an account using the link in the upper right to access their site from anywhere. Please use your FSU credentials for the account. If you receive an error about not being from a member institution, submit a request for validation by sending an email to icpsr-help@umich.edu and include your name, your institutional email address, and the name of your institution.

Abbreviation: icpsr
Vendor: University of Michigan
Coverage: 1962–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Human Development & Family Science, Geography, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security, Retail Entrepreneurship, Social Work, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics
Sage Data

Explore a curated collection of United States statistics in Sage Data. With this dynamic tool, you can scan and search the contents of billions of datasets, compare and contrast variables of interest, and create customized views in tables, maps, rankings, and charts. Views also include descriptive summaries of the datasets and data sources. Datasets cover a wide range of subjects—business, finance, banking, economics, sociology, political science, demography, agriculture, education, international studies, criminal justice, housing and construction, labor and employment, energy resources and industries, and more. Sources include public, private/commercial, and nongovernmental organizations.

Subjects: Statistics and Data, Business, Finance, Economics, Sociology, Political Science, International Studies, International Relations, Demography, Agriculture, Education, Criminal Justice, Housing and Construction, Labor and Employment, Energy Resources and Industries, Climate and Weather.

Abbreviation: dpf
Vendor: SAGE Publishing
Subjects: Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Finance, Food, Geography, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Public Health, Public Safety and Security, Social Work, Statistics, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Citation Management, Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps
Social Explorer (1 concurrent user limit)
Note: Only 1 simultaneous user is allowed. Contains historical decennial census data for the United States from 1790 to the latest census, the American Community Survey, the American Religious Bodies (ASARB), and InfoGroup for latest religion data. Able to create reports and download data in convenient formats quickly and easily. Engagement between society and science.

Tutorials:
Social Explorer LibGuide

Abbreviation: socex
Vendor: Center for Research Libraries
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Social Work, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Provides comprehensive data on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government
FBI Uniform Crime Reports (UCR)
The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program generates reliable statistics for use in law enforcement. It also provides information for students of criminal justice, researchers, the media, and the public.
FL Department of Corrections (FLDOC)
This web resource contains statistical information and publications from the FDOC including annual reports, recidivism reports, strategic plans, regulatory plans, and more.
Gun Violence Archive
An online archive of gun violence data collected from over 7,500 sources.
Justice Information Resource Network
This is a website for a national non-profit and resource center for justice research.
Mapping Police Violence
This web resource includes nongovernmental datasets regarding police-induced deaths.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
The National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD) is the place to discover, access, and analyze data on crime and justice.
The Supreme Court Database
The SCD is a resource containing case centered and justice centered data that contains downloadable files relating Supreme Court citations, cases organized by docket and legal provision, including cases with split votes.
United Nations Office on Drug and Crime
This resource contains data from the United Nations about topics such as crime, substance use, and trafficking.