Research Guides: Social Sciences Data & Statistics Resources: Topic: Education

Find more data like this at US Schools

General Data Sources

Databases
Web Resources

ERIC (ProQuest)
ERIC (ProQuest) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).

Coverage includes:
Adult, career and vocational education
Counseling
Elementary and early childhood education
Education management
Higher education
Junior colleges
Second-language learning
Special education
Teacher education
Tests, measurement and evaluation

Abbreviation: ericcsa
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1966–Current
Subjects: Art Education, Art Therapy, Education, Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Music Therapy, Rhetoric & Composition, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

If you receive an error about not being able to access this database because of using a proxy server, please go straight to https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/ then create an account using the link in the upper right to access their site from anywhere. Please use your FSU credentials for the account. If you receive an error about not being from a member institution, submit a request for validation by sending an email to icpsr-help@umich.edu and include your name, your institutional email address, and the name of your institution.

Abbreviation: icpsr
Vendor: University of Michigan
Coverage: 1962–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Human Development & Family Science, Geography, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security, Retail Entrepreneurship, Social Work, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics
UNESCO (UNESDOC Database)
The UNESDOC Database is a bibliographical references of all UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) documents and publications. International specialized bibliographies in every area of education, museums, monuments and sites. Names, addresses and activities of 10,000 research, training and documentation institutions in the social sciences. Also includes the UNESCO and the International Bureau of Education thesauri. Many of the indexed items are available in the Government Documents area of the Strozier Library.

Abbreviation: unesbib
Vendor: United Nations Organization for Education, Science and Culture (UNESCO)
Coverage: 1993–Current
Subjects: Art Education, Cultural Heritage, Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Higher Education, International Affairs, Museum Studies, Music Education, Sociocultural and International Education, Teacher Education
Type: Government Publications, Open Access
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR)
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open-access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.

Abbreviation: wbokr
Vendor: The World Bank Group
Subjects: International Affairs, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Book Collections
UNdata

UNdata is a data access system to UN databases. The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet-based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point. Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.

Abbreviation: undata
Vendor: United Nations
Subjects: Demography and Population Studies, International Affairs
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Government Publications, Open Access

EdStats Query
This database allows users to query extensive time-series data as well as other data collected on educational attainment and expenditures.
NCES - Trends in International Mathematics and Science Study
TIMSS is conducted through NCES and is a source for reliable and timely trend data on the mathematics and science achievement of U.S. students compared to that of students in other countries.
FL Department of Education
The sole repository of education data from school districts, state and community colleges, universities, and independent postsecondary institutions.
NCES - National Center for Education Statistics
The statistics, research, and evaluation arm of the U.S. Department of Education.
NCES - School Longitudinal Study of 2009
This is a national longitudinal study of over 23,000 participants, including students, parents, teachers, administration, and counselors.
NCES - Private School Universe Survey (PSS)
The PSS study on private schools began in the late 1980s and is conducted every two years through NCES.
NCES - Schools and Staffing Survey (SASS)
SASS was an integrated study between public and private schools to collect descriptive data on the context on elementary and secondary education.
US Schools
This resource includes data for the period 1970-2010 about desegregation court cases, trends in racial composition and segregation of elementary schools, and additional information about poverty, teacher-student ratios, and performance on standardized state tests.
US Department of Education - College Scorecard
This site allows access to institution-level data files for 1996-97 through 2022-23 containing aggregate data for each institution.