Day 7: Stalk Companies (Legally) - 12 Day Business Readiness Challenge - 2025 - Research Guides at The Florida State University

Day 7

Research companies using tools like Factiva, Market Atlas, and Nexis Uni.
Perfect for class projects, job interviews, or just figuring out who’s who in your dream industry.

Publicly Traded Companies

A publicly traded company, also known as a public company, is a corporation that has offered its shares of stock to the general public through an initial public offering (IPO) and whose shares are subsequently traded on a stock exchange or over-the-counter (OTC) market.

For the databases below choose a company that you wear, eat at, drive or play on:

Factset (COB owned)

Factiva (20 concurrent user limit)

Factiva.com, from Dow Jones, includes access to a wide range of information from newspapers, newswires, industry publications, websites, company reports, and more. The broad range of content provides both local insight and global perspective on business issues and current events—especially with regard to research requiring current information on companies, industries, and financial markets.

There is a 20 concurrent user limit.

Abbreviation: djfac
Vendor: Dow Jones & Company
Subjects: Business, Communication, Finance
Type: Newspapers and Newswires
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's)
Find business, company and financial reports, plus investment, stock and mutual fund research. Provides financial content for public companies globally as well as hard-to-find private company information. Contains Company Stock Reports, Industry Surveys, Funds Reports, Stock Screener, Corporations, Executives and Directors Screener, Mutual Fund Screener, Corporate Bond Screener, and Compustat Excel Analytics.

Abbreviation: nasp
Vendor: Standard & Poor's
Subjects: Business, Communication, Economics, Finance, Hospitality
Type: E-Book Collections
Mergent Market Atlas

Mergent Market Atlas (formerly Mergent Online) offers powerful and intuitive search capabilities combined with an easy to learn and use interface providing access to a multitude of company, industry, country, index, ESG and economic data analysis tools and reports.

Abbreviation: markat
Vendor: Mergent
Subjects: Business, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Reports

Private Companies

A privately held company is a business owned by private individuals or groups, rather than by the public through stock exchanges. Unlike public companies, their shares are not traded. This means they don't have the same disclosure and reporting requirements as public companies.

PrivCo
PrivCo is a source for business and financial data on major privately-held companies, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. PrivCo covers over 165,000 companies, including financial data, over 30,000 M&A transactions, and over 15,000 funding rounds. PrivCo also has over 10,000 investors, and advance search options by company, deal or investor, giving you the ability to generate fields of data within seconds based on criteria such as location, sub-industry, revenue and employee sizes, financial backing and more.

Note: create or sign in to your personal user account to access PrivCo.

Abbreviation: priv
Vendor: PrivCo
Subjects: Business, Finance
Type: Datasets / Statistics
Nexis Uni

Nexis Uni offers a simple, intuitive research experience with flexible search options and tools to help guide students through common research tasks. Nexis Uni offers the same trusted content collection of more than 17,000 news, legal and business sources that students and librarians alike have come to expect from LexisNexis, while also providing a better research experience.

Content:
Briefs, Pleadings and Motions
Cases
Company and Financial
Directories
Law Reviews and Journals
Legal News
News
Statutes and Legislation

Abbreviation: nexis
Vendor: LexisNexis
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Hospitality, Law, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Sociology
Type: Directories, Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires, Proceedings