FSU Libraries offers several databases that focus specifically on Recreation, Tourism, and Hospitality. These resources are designed to help you find targeted, high-quality sources for your research. Browse the databases below to explore materials that meet your academic and professional needs.
Hospitality and Tourism provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries. The curious traveler will also find a wealth of information, from contents on state parks and information on planning a vacation to full-text travel guides from Fodor's.
This collection charts the development of one of the world's largest and most culturally significant industries. The growth of leisure travel has profoundly influenced global society in the past two hundred years and the unique primary sources in this resource allow scholars and students to trace the evolution and impact of this phenomenon. From the emergence of travel agencies in the 19th century, to the impact of wilderness tourism on American national identity, and the golden age of package holidays in the 1970s, this content offers a wealth of essential material for any scholar or student of social, cultural, and business history.
These databases are not exclusively focused on Recreation and Tourism. Instead, they offer broad coverage across the Social Sciences. While they can be excellent sources for Recreation-related research, you may also encounter results from other disciplines. This interdisciplinary reach can be useful but it may require more careful filtering to find the most relevant materials.
This collection provides access to databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from over 1000 important social science journals
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. FSU has access to JSTOR’s Archive, Artstor, Primary Sources, and Global Plants collections.
Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full-text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,300 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 40,000 most-cited authors in the database. This database is a strong source for full-text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
© Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706