Research Guides: HMG 5930 Hospitality Colloquium : Databases

Hospitality Databases

FSU Libraries offers a few databases that focus specifically on hospitality and tourism. These resources are designed to help you find high-quality, peer reviewed articles about hospitality. Browse the databases below to explore materials that meet your academic needs.

Hospitality & Tourism Complete
Covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. There is full text for more than 200 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.

Abbreviation: hosptour
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1965–Current
Subjects: Business, Hospitality, Sport Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile)

Hospitality and Tourism provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries. The curious traveler will also find a wealth of information, from contents on state parks and information on planning a vacation to full-text travel guides from Fodor's.

Activities, facilities, theory, research, policy, and planning in the fields of leisure, recreation, sport, culture, and tourism.

Abbreviation: htlc
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1980–Current
Subjects: Business, Hospitality, Sport Management
Type: E-Journal Collections
ABI/INFORM Collection
Documents in ABI/INFORM Collection (the most comprehensive version of ABI/INFORM) number over 40 million. Over 90% of the articles can be found right in the database. For the remaining 10%, summaries and links to other resources are provided. Publications are precisely indexed and various search aids and tools are provided in the ProQuest platform to help users find information. Tools for citation generation, emailing and printing articles of interest are also provided on the platform.

Subjects include:
Business
Economic conditions
Corporate strategies
Management theory
Management techniques
Business trends
Competitive landscape and product information
Accounting
Finance

Tutorials:
Introduction to ABI/INFORM Collection (PowerPoint)
Overview of ABI Market Research Sources (PowerPoint)
Tip for Teaching: ABI/INFORM Collection Uncovering SWOT Analyses (03:51 minutes)

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry- Features limited content compared to the Browse Search in ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/INFORM Dateline- Browse Search not included
ABI/INFORM Global- features limited content compared to the Browse Search in ABI/INFORM Complete

Abbreviation: abi-com
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Real Estate, Risk Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs