Research Guides: *Education: Tests & Measurement

Test Preparation Guides

Sources and Reviews of Tests & Measurements

PsycTESTS
APA database that provides access to noncommercial, unpublished psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments. Included are the summary and purpose of a test, a history of its development and, in many cases, the test instrument. When available, test scope, implementation, development, and validity and reliability data are provided.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. It includes information about test purpose, publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). Tests in Print is directly linked to test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook.
Educational Testing Service Test Collection
The ETS Test Collection is a database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices. Tests were acquired from publisher and individual authors and range in date from the early 1900s to the present.

Dissertations & Theses (Florida State University only) (PQDT, ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
More information about finding Dissertations and Thesis may be found on the webpage "Theses and Dissertations at The Florida State University"
Abbreviation: dissertation
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1637–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Dissertations / Theses

IRIS
IRIS is a digital repository of instruments and materials for research into second languages. It provides free access to a wide variety of peer-reviewed research instruments, including interview and observation schedules, questionnaires, language elicitation tasks, and working memory tests.
Reading Assessment Database
Southwest Educational Development Laboratory (SEDL) and American Institutes for Research (AIR) combined to form this database that contains resources from the past 50 years. This database provides early reading assessment tools for children in grades Pre-K through 3rd.
*TMdb* Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences
A compilation of test and measure resources in the social sciences. Search the FSU catalog to see if we own a particular collection."The TMdb is an aid in locating known assessment instruments. Entries include only instrument title, author, date, & pages located in a larger compilation." . . . "Compiled by Helen Hough, Systems Librarian with Burt King (through 2013) at University of Texas at Arlington."

Finding Copies of Tests

In the databases listed to the left, you will be able to locate reviews of assessment instruments or tests. In some databases, you can find copies of tests or information that will lead you to copies of the test.

Searching the "Tests and Measurements, TM" field with the name of a test in PsycINFO and then scrolling down in the article to the "TM" field to show which test is mentioned in the article, will yield information about particular tests. Sometimes the bibliography in these articles will point out the book(s) the tests are in.

In ERIC, search for "tests" in the "Publication Type" field to find items that include copies of tests or questionnaires.

Fulltext dissertations found in the Dissertations Abstracts/Digital Dissertations database will often have copies of tests. Most test copies will be located in the Appendix part of the dissertation. It is easier to peruse the Table of Contents to locate the test in the Appendix. You can also search the Library's online catalog using the name of the test to see if we own a book that contains information or a copy of the test.

Publishers hold the copyright to tests they distribute. You can contact the publisher to purchase tests or you can order and purchase tests online from the ETS Complete Test Directory.

For copies of unpublished tests, contact the author of the test.

APA Information on Finding Psychological Tests