Research Guides: *Art History: Find Images

Find Images

As of August 1, 2024, all ARTstor content, resources, and functionality has been integrated into JSTOR. ARTstor is no longer a separate database requiring a separate login. Keep reading for more tutorials and resources to find ARTstor image-based content in the new and improved JSTOR search platform.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic content in many formats and disciplines. The collections include top peer-reviewed scholarly journals as well as respected literary journals, academic monographs, research reports from trusted institutes, and diverse primary sources. FSU has access to JSTOR’s Archive, Artstor, Primary Sources, and Global Plants collections.
Tutorials:
JSTOR on YouTube
How to search (04:20)
Primary Source Collection: 19th-Century British Pamphlets (00:51)

Abbreviation: jstor
Vendor: JSTOR
Coverage: 1665–Current
Subjects: Arts Administration, Art History, *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

ARTstor to JSTOR migration guide
Artstor's content, key resources, and functionality are moving to JSTOR. Use this guide to help transition your institution to using Artstor on JSTOR.
ARTstor on JSTOR YouTube video tutorial library
Find helpful video tutorial for accessing ARTstor content in JSTOR here.

For a more detailed tutorial on accessing ARTstor content in JSTOR, FSU students and faculty may visit the FSU Libraries Fine Arts Library Research Handbook in Canvas. Instructors: please see the last tab on the left-hand navigation bar of this guide for more information on finding and downloading this Canvas module resource from the Canvas Commons into your course site.

British Library Images Online
Images Online is the Picture library of the British Library, the national library of the United Kingdom.
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.
Europeana Collections
An open access conglomeration of libraries and archives across Europe.
Florida Memory
Florida Memory is a digital outreach program providing free online access to select archival resources from collections housed in the State Library and Archives of Florida.
FSU Digital Repository
Florida State University's Digital Library and Research Repository. Provides online access to thousands of unique manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, books and maps, and other materials from across the FSU campus libraries and beyond.
Getty Images Archival Image Library
A global archival offering of defining cultural moments, places and iconic personalities from the historical to the present-day.
Library of Congress
Official Flickr photostream.
LIFE Archive
Hosted by Google.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Explore 678,922 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.

Artcyclopedia
Browse entries by artist name, movement, medium, subject, or nationality.
Digital Scriptorium
Digital Scriptorium is a growing consortium of American libraries and museums committed to free online access to their collections of pre-modern manuscripts. Our website unites scattered resources from many institutions into a national digital platform for teaching and scholarly research.
Duke University Ad*Access Advertising Collection
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.

Europeana This link opens in a new window
Europeana provides access to millions of books, music, artworks and more from European archives, libraries and museums with sophisticated search and filter tools.
Abbreviation: europeana
Vendor: European Union
Subjects: Archaeology, Art History, Cultural Heritage, Geography, History, Literature, Music
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Images, Maps, Music Scores, Newspapers and Newswires, Open Access, Streaming Audio, Streaming Video

The Index of Christian Art
Archive of medieval art, describing and presenting iconographic subjects and images, without geographical limitation, from early apostolic times to the early modern era.
Library of Congress Digital Library
Find collections of digitized photographs, books, sound recordings, and other archival documents here.
Perseus Digital Library
Our flagship collection, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. We are applying what we have learned from Classics to other subjects within the humanities and beyond.
PHAROS: The International Consortium of Photo Archives
Using a group of 97,075 images of Italian works of art represented in 8 of the PHAROS photoarchives, this tool examines the potential of visual searching in the pursuit of research.
Smithsonian Archives of American Art
The Archives of American Art collects, preserves, and makes available primary sources documenting the history of the visual arts in the United States.
Smithsonian Institution Research Information System (SIRIS)
This Gallery is meant to be a landing page for interested researchers to explore some of the many digitized collections held at the Smithsonian. You can explore by Arts & Design, History & Culture, or by individual Smithsonian repositories and museums.
Smithsonian Libraries Image Gallery
A selection of book illustrations, photos, drawings, and other images from across the Libraries.
University of Washington Digital Collections
This site features materials such as photographs, maps, newspapers, posters, reports and other media from the University of Washington Libraries (including Special Collections), University of Washington Faculty and Departments, and organizations that have participated in partner projects with the UW Libraries. The collections emphasize rare and unique materials.
Web Gallery of Art
The Web Gallery of Art is a searchable database of European fine arts and architecture (3rd-19th centuries), currently containing over 48.600 reproductions. Artist biographies, commentaries, guided tours, period music, catalogue, free postcard and mobile services are provided.