Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Napoleon and the French Revolution

A place to begin research on the French Revolution and the Napoleonic era.

Primary Source Material

Ambassadorial & Secret Service reports on Revolutionary and Napoleonic France (FO 27), 1781-1815 - Public Record Office 
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 9406
Guide: STROZIER LIBRARY Micro DA47.1.A43 1984
CRL Guide: http://dds.crl.edu/CRLdelivery.asp?tid=13228

Diplomatic correspondence between England and France, 1802-1803 with an appendix
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 4318 no.18761
Includes some papers in French with English translation.

Despatches from United States ministers to France (1789-1906) - United States. Dept. of State. 
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 436 France
General records of the US Department of State. Record Group 59. File microcopies of records in the US National Archives.

Notes from the French legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1789-1906 - France. Ambassade (U.S.) 
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 510 France

Americana not in Sabin, Group 5: France and America during the French Revolution
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Mic 944.04
Most items in French. There does not appear to be a guide to this material. Search the catalog under the title "Americana not in Sabin" to get the full list of titles available. Some deal with French colonies, including Haiti.

Napoléon, sa Famille et son Entourage: Documents du Musée Historique d'État, Moscou
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 9528
Most items in French, some items in other languages, German, etc.; Pref. and Remerciements in English.
Guide: STROZIER LIBRARY Micr DC216 .N36 1998

Sources Statistiques de l'Histoire de France les Enquêtes des Préfets de l'Empire
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Mif 3724
Online Guide: http://images.crl.edu/100.pdf
Print Guide: STROZIER LIBRARY Micr HA1215.S68 1975 guide

French Royal and Administrative Acts, 1256-1794
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials Film 9704
Guide: Marcel Lipkowitz. French royal and administrative acts, 1256-1794 : a subject guide to the New York Public Library collection of 16,000 pamphlets now on microfilm. NY: New York Public Library, Astor, Lenox and Tilden Foundations, 1978.
STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- KJV270 .F74 1978-In-Library Use Only
Collection consists of approximately 16,000 pamphlets offering a wealth of information on the financial and political administration of France from the late thirteenth century to the end of the monarchy, with about three-fourths concentrating on the eighteenth century. Includes Arrets (the final judgments of an edict of the king by Parlements or royal courts or councils), Memoires (official reminders), Lettre Patentes (which established privileges), Royal Ordonnances (in response to petitions), and Remonstrances and Extraits. The subject matter varies widely and includes such topics as fiscal matters in the Chambres des Comptes, taxation and tariffs, toll collections and disputes, military administration, criminal justice, book printing and prohibitions, significant people and guilds.

Maclure Collection of French Revolutionary Materials
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 2669
Guide: STROZIER LIBRARY Micr Z2179 .P4
1460 volumes in 372 reels
French Revolutionary Pamphlets, Broadsides, and Ephemera

Journal de Paris No.1 (Jan. 1777)-no.181 (June 1827)
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film PR 246
Journaux éphéméres de la période de la révolution
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film PR 253 1788-1789
Consists of 95 titles issued in Paris 1789-1792.

Napoleonic Wars, 1805-1815 Napoleonovskie von̆y, 1805-1815 - Russian State Military History Archive, Moscow, Russia
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 9686
Guide: STROZIER LIBRARY Micr DC226.2.N34 2002

The Maclure Collection of FrenchRevolutionary Materials
Call Number: STROZIER LIBRARY Micromaterials -- Film 2669
Reels: 1-372

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706