Research Guides: British History: Finding Books & Dissertations

Finding Books @ Other Libraries

Ready to expand your search beyond the shelves at FSU Libraries? Use the WorldCat database to search for books, audio, video, and other materials in libraries across the country and around the world. Then use UBorrow (if in the state of Florida) or Interlibrary Loan (everywhere else) to borrow items from other libraries!

UBorrow
Borrow books from any of the 11 state universities in Florida. It's faster than ILL and renewals can be requested easily. The following short tutorial will show you how!

WorldCat is a catalog of catalogs; it allows you to search nationwide and around the world to find materials held by other libraries. You can request print books, microfilm, and physical media like CDs and DVDs that you find in WorldCat using InterLibrary Loan.

Note that ebooks cannot be shared between libraries because of licensing restrictions, but you may be able to request a single chapter from an ebook, just like you can request a single article from an online journal.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) This link opens in a new window
The Interlibrary Loan service provides access to materials that are unavailable from FSU Libraries. For more information, visit Interlibrary Loan.
Vendor: OCLC
WorldCat (OCLC WorldCat Discovery) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat Discovery provides single-search access to OCLC's catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
Abbreviation: wcwc
Vendor: OCLC
Subjects: Indexes & Catalogs
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
OCLC FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
The original--and more powerful--interface for WorldCat. Great for locating serials (e.g. newspapers, journals) and those more obscure book titles.
Abbreviation: oclcfs
Vendor: OCLC
Coverage: 1000 BC to present
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Dissertations & Theses

Dissertations & Theses (Florida State University only) (PQDT, ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
More information about finding Dissertations and Thesis may be found on the webpage "Theses and Dissertations at The Florida State University"
Abbreviation: dissertation
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1637-Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: Dissertations / Theses

CRL - International Dissertation Catalog
As a CRL member institution, FSU has free and unlimited use of CRL collections through interlibrary loan.
DART Europe E-Theses Portal
"DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. DART-Europe is endorsed by LIBER (Ligue des Bibliothèques Européennes de Recherche), and it is the European Working Group of the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)."
EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service)
rovides comprehensive listings for doctoral theses from over 100 institutions in the United Kingdom, dating back to the 17th century. Many theses are available in PDF full text, and it possible to request that those not already available be digitized.