Research Guides: Marketing: Product Level Data

Introduction

Search for sales and product statistics in the following information sources:

Market Rresearch Reports
Analyst Rreports
Government Reports
Trade Organizations
Journal Articles

Market Research Reports

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
BSC has market research reports from a number of analysts, namely Datamonitor. Click on the "Market Research Reports" or "Industry Profiles" link on the right hand side of the start page.
Abbreviation: bscomp
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1886–Current
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Management & Strategy, Marketing, Real Estate, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sport Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Proceedings, Reports
ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
ABI/Inform also has a market research search that focuses on market research statistics within articles rather than using reports.
Subjects include:
Business
Economic conditions
Corporate strategies
Management theory
Management techniques
Business trends
Competitive landscape and product information
Accounting
Finance

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

Abbreviation: abi-global
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Business Legal Studies, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Insurance, Management & Strategy, Marketing, MIS: Management Information Systems, Real Estate, Risk Management
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's) This link opens in a new window
Includes Industry surveys/Market research reports for over 50 industries by top industry analysts; Within each profile is "How the Industry Operates," and "Key Industry Ratios and Statistics" for revenues, ratios, and analyses
Abbreviation: nasp
Vendor: Standard & Poor's
Subjects: Business, Communication, Economics, Finance, Hospitality
Type: E-Book Collections
IBISWorld Industry Market Research This link opens in a new window
A collection of Industry Market Research and Industry Risk Ratings. Coverage includes over 700 U.S. industries in over 1100 industry-specific reports. Research reports contain trends, statistics and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, forecasting, and industry growth rates. Performance analysis includes emerging trends, recent production performance and 5-year forecasts. The US Specialized Industry Reports series covers niche industries such as pawn shops, boat insurance companies, air gun manufacturers and circus operators.
Abbreviation: ibisworld
Vendor: IBISWorld
Subjects: Business, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Marketing
Type: Reports
BCC Research This link opens in a new window
BCC Research is a market research and forecasting company providing industry reports for business categories such as biotech, chemicals, energy, engineering, environment, food and beverage, fuels cell and battery technologies healthcare, information technology, instrumentation and sensors, manufacturing, membrane and separation technology, nanotechnology, pharmaceuticals, plastics, safety and security, and semiconductor manufacturing. BCC publishes over 250 market research reports annually.
Tutorials:
BCC Research YouTube Channel

Abbreviation: bccr
Vendor: BCC Research LLC
Coverage: Current
Subjects: Environmental Sciences, Engineering, Marketing
Type: Datasets / Statistics

Analyst Reports

Savvy Researcher Hint: You can also contact an analyst or investment bank that covers the company or industry you are interested in. They will often share with you their most recent reports with you. Also check with a stock brokerage for access to brokerage and analyst reports. Several brkerages still provide free access to anaylsts reports.

Wall Street Transcript
Provides analyst, money manager, and CEO interviews each week.

Government Reports

Economic Census
data on sales and business statistics collected across broad sectors, updated with varying frequency; down to firm level in some cases, collected every 5 years)
Bureau of Economic Analysis
national and international data from the U.S. Department of Commerce including GDP by industry and international trade data
Bureau of Economic Analysis/Personal Income and Outlays
data on consumption across types of products, second section
Bureau of Labor Statistics: Consumer Expenditure Survey
data on consumer expenditures across major categories
Bureau of Labor Statistics: Consumer Price Index
Consumer Price Indexes (CPI) program produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative basket of goods and services.
Bureau of Labor Statistics: Producer Price Index
Producer Price Index (PPI) program measures the average change over time in the selling prices received by domestic producers for their output.

Subject Guide

Trip Wyckoff

Email Me

Contact:

Room 0027k
Strozier Library
Basement

850-645-1475

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Data Analytics and Information Systems, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Insurance, Real Estate, Risk Management, Sports & Recreation Management